I found this on my Facebook feed: "First you drink your coffee and then you eat… the cup!"

I found this on my Facebook feed: “First you drink your coffee and then you eat… the cup!”

Hello all

Well folks, you can thank the coffee maker Lavazza for creating this Cookie Cup and making my day. When I saw it on Facebook, I had to know more!

“Cookie Cup is the edible cup designed by Enrique Luis Sardi together with the team at the Lavazza Training Centre and Cataldo Parisi, head chef of the confectioner’s kitchen at Number 10 San Tommaso (Venice).”

You should all know by now that I love drinking tea but what you may not know about me is that I am equally as fussy about the type of coffee I drink. In fact, anything to do with coffee usually gets my attention and this is why the edible Cookie Cup intrigued me.

The main question that went through my mind was “wouldn’t it get soggy and leak?” Well no it doesn’t as I found out. Here is what happens:

The cup is made of pastry covered with a special icing sugar, which works as an insulator, and makes the cup waterproof hence allowing you to use the cup and then appreciate its taste, so to eat and drink coffee along with a biscuit at the same time.”

Now, what I want to know is:  can I get a job working in research into food design? What a great job! But, what is more important is that my big question about the cup leaking was answered!

The secret is: THE  SPECIAL ICING SUGAR WHICH INSULATES IT.

CookieBut be warned folks, you need to travel to Venice so you can drink (and eat) a Sardi cup every day!  According to TheWateringMouth.com, these will be available in the US soon, but I am not sure about Australia. You would have to bombard Lavazza with emails to get some of these Cookie Cups here.

In the meantime I will have to be content with drinking my coffee out of proper coffee cups.  Honestly, you don’t want to be out with me when I am ordering coffee for I have been known (in the past) to be very precise in my ordering technique. But now I have refined it down to: “Flat while … extra hot” and that seems to get me what I want. I have reformed!

Remember Sally in “When Harry Met Sally?” If you haven’t seen this movie, it is worth seeing just to watch Meg Ryan playing the part of Sally as she orders her food. Well, I hate to have to say it but I’m a bit like her.  Of course, Meg became famous in this move for more than just ordering meals! If you’ve seen it, you will know what I mean.

You know friends, life is full of interesting little asides isn’t it? Just when you think things are a little dull, along comes an invention such as the  Sardi Cookie Cup and you realise that life is NEVER dull … that is, if you look hard enough for it. Start searching TODAY …