Set for Solstice

From WordPress: Today’s Summer Solstice, the longest day of the year (in the Northern Hemisphere). How are you taking advantage of the extra hours of light this time of year? Do you like it, or do you already miss earlier sunsets? http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/set-for-solstice/

A beautiful winter's day for the solstice in the southern hemisphere!

A beautiful winter’s day for the solstice in the southern hemisphere! Here is the entrance to my mystery pathway.

Hello all

In these days of technology, it is disconcerting living in the southern hemisphere when quite often, because you follow blogs and participate on social media, almost everything is happening in the northern hemisphere! The time difference gets to you and you feel ‘out of the loop.’

For instance, unless you stay up late, you are asleep when WordPress and other online media outlets publish their Challenges, so you are always behind; often getting your contribution in on the tail end of everything. One can feel very out of kilter dear friends. Oh, what an upside-down world we live in, especially when you live Down-Under!

And so we have the Summer Solstice happening today in the northern hemisphere. Oh no! Not when we are having the Winter Solstice here at the very same time! What to do?

Of course there is nothing else to be done but for me to discuss the Winter Solstice … of course. I am pleased to see that there are quite a few southern hemisphere bloggers now who carry the baton for Down Under and plod away as best they can. Onwards and upwards …

Therefore today,  while the northern hemisphere is still in their summer solstice. we are so far ahead, we celebrated our winter solstice yesterday! Comprehend? Torn BETWEEN two hemispheres friends.

Anyway, today I set out to do some walking for exercise. The sun was shining brilliantly under the bluest of skies and because it is cold, one can easily go walking around midday without feeling the least bit overheated … as I did today.

As I walked along the path at the end of my street, I pondered this question of the two solstices and how one can have polar opposites of weather at the very same time. For some reason, I find it fascinating. Perhaps I remember when I was in Europe in April freezing during their spring, only to come back to Australia in May to our autumn and feel nice and warm. In the blink of an eye the weather had changed.

This graffiti surprised me with its beauty on the wall of a house shed.

This graffiti surprised me with its beauty on the wall of a house shed.

As I continued on my walk, I was faced with a decision: turn right to continue along the footpath close to the road, or go straight ahead through a pathway which was BETWEEN a ten foot fence bordering the highway and the back fences of a whole row of houses. I chose the path BETWEEN as it was cooler and shrouded in trees and shrubs and it had one element that the footpath did not have: MYSTERY!

I love this almost secret pathway. So I continued walking there for another fifteen minutes until I came into a clearing which led to another road. Across from here was a park with tennis courts and playgrounds and skate tracks. At this point I turned around and walked back through my pathway of mystery … hidden from all and sundry. I do not think however, that I would want to be taking this path during the night hours … in fact I shivered when I thought what could happen here if you were alone.

As I went, I looked at the graffiti scribbled on the highway barricades and then I noticed another on the back wall of one of the houses which was simply beautiful. It was at this point that I realised something: I was actually walking ‘BETWEEN’ two barriers. Immediately I realised that this was the very word that WordPress had asked us to submit when taking part in the weekly photo challenge.

I began to see that, without even realising it, I could achieve the Daily Prompt of ‘Set for Solstice’ and the Weekly Photo Challenge of ‘Between!’ I felt very clever indeed. Two for the price of one. So without further ado here is what WordPress asked us to do with photos that say ‘BETWEEN:’

Between. Capture something in the middle of two things. It can be a person or object, or simply the space in between. http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/between-danielle-hark/

Thanks to my trusty smart phone which I was carrying, I was able to take some photos to submit. And therefore, to end my’ double trouble’ challenge, I present to you “Choosing BETWEEN the Two Solstices”. I hope you enjoy it!

The path between the barricade fence of the highway on one side and the fences of houses on the other ... on a glorious Solstice Winter's Day Down Under.

The path between the barricade fence of the highway on one side and the fences of houses on the other … on a glorious Solstice Winter’s Day Down Under.

Between the palings of this broken fence - taken on my Solstice walk today.

Between the palings of this broken fence – taken on my Solstice walk today.

Between another fence; the one next door to above as I walked.

Between another fence; the one next door to above as I walked.

This interesting fence caught my attention ... no, not a snake the branches of a bush!

This interesting fence caught my attention … no, not a snake the branches of a bush!

 

Ah ... look what's between the fence here: a lone tennis ball!

Ah … look what’s between the fence here: a lone tennis ball!

 

 

