Daily Prompt: Unsafe Containers

Which emotion(s) — joy, envy, rage, pity, or something else — do you find to be the hardest to contain?

Dear friends, today I write on ENVY. I was just discussing this today with my husband so I was propelled to write a little piece about it. Envy is so insidious … we have to battle it and work at keeping it at bay, otherwise it can take us over and ruin our lives. Here is my take on Unsafe Containers.

ENVY

UNSAFE CONTAINERS

Yes ENVY dear friends!

Oh dear, methinks I am admitting to ENVY

It is  very hard to keep in my container as I go about my day

Am I the only one like this?

I conquer it and then when I least expect it

It is pouring out all over the place again!

Oh … I need help!

Let’s see: I can embrace JOY so easily …

It tumbles out of my container like liquid gold.

I can even WEEP with others without thinking twice

And before I know it my container is full of tears.

RAGE … I can contain because I know how UNWISE it is to let it OUT of my container …

So I keep that lid firmly shut

My container doesn’t t contain PITY

When I feel it, I write and write

Have a little cry and then the container gets emptied out.

… but ENVY?

Why oh why does ENVY dog my steps at times?

Envy is NOT JEALOUSY dear friends

JEALOUSY is the fear of losing someone or something that one is attached to,

… to another person

While ENVY is the resentment caused when another person has something

That one does not have, but desires for oneself.

But here’s another thing to consider: SCHADENFREUDE!

Schadenfreude means taking pleasure in the misfortune of others

It  can be understood as an outgrowth of envy in certain situations.

Oh no! I think I have schadenfreude as well!

What am I to do?

It begins like this:

I feel the pangs of ENVY

And I panic at the thought!

I don’t want to feel this way

… it leads to SELF-PITY

Which ends in RAGE (at myself)

Next  SCHANDENFREUDE is knocking at my door!

How could I be like this?

And then … just when it seems too much

I realise how ridiculous the whole thing is

And like a pin bursts a balloon

I whip out my pin …

and with a great thrust I burst the balloon

Like a wet dishcloth thrust across my face

It causes my container to overflow with JOY

Finally I realise I have no need of ENVY after all …

For life is full and I am truly blessed.

With great intent I seek the best for others

I turn my back on ENVY 

I get up and continue on my way

… knowing that ENVY is contained once again

PHEW!

 

LADIES AND ENVY

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/unsafe-containers/

