Hello all

As it’s Mother’s Day tomorrow I wanted to acknowledge it on my blog. In fact, I was wanting  to write a letter to my mother (who is no long with us) when I came across a verse I had already written in the past.

I wrote it in May 2012 whilst flying home from a week in Fiji with my daughter and her family. It was Mother’s Day the next day so I was thinking about my Mum. After finishing the verse I shared it on my blog for Mother’s Day.

And, as luck would have it, I have returned home AGAIN – this time after visiting our sick friend in Coffs Harbour – just in time for Mother’s Day tomorrow. I seem to be away quite often just before Mother’s Day!

That’s serendipity for you …

Then … imagine my surprise this morning to come across that same Mother’s Day post when I wasn’t even looking for it. How amazing!

Yes, serendipity again dear friends … how then could I resist sharing it? The message was very clear indeed. It said exactly what was in my heart right now.

Therefore, in honour of Mother’s Day 2014, here is the verse I wrote entitled: “Oh How I Miss my Mother”.  Yes, it is true, no matter how much time goes by, I still miss my mother. I appreciate her so much more now than I did when I younger. Sigh … “Oh How I Miss my Mother!”

Here is my post from 2012. Enjoy!

 

Home: Thinking of my Mother … 13th May 2012

“Today I want to share a short verse I wrote on the plane coming home from Fiji last night. In fact, I was writing it when the announcement came at 10.15pm that the plane would commence its descent into Brisbane. Then, just when I was about to finish it, the lights went out so the plane could land … not a good thing to happen to a poet!

Well, the verse got finished this morning while Geoff and I were rugged up in Alice’s new  bed having a cup of tea in the cool of a Brisbane autumn morning. We are home now and it does feel good, so here is my contribution to Mother’s Day from a very sleepy daughter … ME!

Oh, how I miss my Mother

Last night, I thought of my mother whilst sitting in Nadi Airport

I am not sure what prompted this thought

For it’s been over 20 years since my mother departed this life

But I spoke out-loud to my daughter Maria and I said … with a sigh:

Oh how I miss my mother!”

Just like that it was said and put out into the universe

And just then, I had a memory of a moment in time – when I was an adult

And my own mother spoke – with a sigh – very similar words to me:

“Oh, how I still miss my mother!”

And I was surprised because their relationship did not appear close

But I underestimated the bond between a mother and her child.

You see, there is no card to give to those long gone

All differences now forgotten

Only memories that are ‘good’ remain

For bad memories are soon no more

And every time I return from travelling

I think of my mother …

No longer needing to be a dutiful daughter

Telling her mother “I have returned

No, now I am the mother and my children are the dutiful ones.

One day I too will be but a memory

And my daughter may be surprised

To find herself saying … with a sigh:

“Oh, how I miss my mother.”

And she will think of me.

This is no maudlin thought dear ones

No indeed. this is simply the circle of life

And it will continue to the end of time.

Today my friends, is a day to think of ‘Mother’

And to reflect on the bond between mother and child,

The bond which lasts for all eternity.

Friends, remember Mother’ today

And be grateful that she gave you life…

