For this week’s challenge, share a photo that shows what spring means to you. It can be a flower in bloom (or a field of them!), a May Day celebration, or your dog luxuriating in the grass after a long winter indoors. Maybe it’s a shot you took on a spring break trip, or your family wearing Easter finery.

No matter which hemisphere you’re in, think about how the season’s change will expand your own chance to play outside, taking pictures as you go!

Hello all

Spring? Interesting when it is actually Autumn DownUnder here in Australia.

In fact, I felt just a tad uneasy dear friends when I read on a blog somewhere yesterday … heavens knows where … that only those in the Northern Hemisphere and Northern Asia really understand and love the coming of Spring.

So … does that mean that the rest of us who live in the Southern Hemisphere don’t understand spring? Or appreciate it?

Admittedly, where I live in the sub-tropical part of Australia, we do not have a very cold winter filled with ice and snow which then bursts into spring. No. But we, who so seldom feel terribly cold, appreciate the coming of spring just as any other hemisphere.

In fact, if we do get a particularly cold snap – such as we are experiencing at present in our third month of Autumn – we rage against it as if to say to the cold: “Leave us alone Mr Cold, you who cause us grief,” as if it was a terrorist come to make our lives a misery! We love MILD weather in every season. And this is the reason we look forward to spring, because we can’t stand being cold if we don’t have to be. Besides, our houses are not heated because it is only ‘freezing cold’ for such a short period that we don’t bother.

Therefore, when I saw this Weekly Photo Challenge entitled ‘SPRING’ I was not at all pleased. Firstly, it is not spring here in Australia … and secondly, it feels as if we are always behind the eight ball in comparison to people in the Northern Hemisphere! “Poor us DownUnder” went the cry. I think I need hitting over the head with a wet dishcloth right about now.

I know … I know … there is no need to carry on but I couldn’t help myself. Perhaps it was because I so wanted it to be spring (said with a sigh). You see there was the reminder by WordPress that all of those in the ‘other’ hemisphere were enjoying spring and it just got to me as I wrapped my warm jacket around myself and tried not to feel cold. I had to remind myself not to feel jealous. Besides, WordPress has acknowledged the plight of those who are not in Spring and encouraged us to post other photos.

Yes, we are experiencing cold today as bad as any that we get in the winter. It has happened because, contrary to what people overseas think, we do have snow in parts of Australia and it’s snowing there at present. Yep, it’s true. There are various areas where it is every bit as cold as it is in the Northern Hemisphere.

The blue parts are the very cold areas of Australia. It snows in some of these areas.

The blue parts are the cold regions of Australia but some are colder than others. It snows in some of these areas. I live in the pale green area, in the middle on the far right of the picture.

There is the Alpine Mountain country in the southern part of Australia which is well-known for skiing.  It is a very cold place to visit and we know this because we have visited in the winter in a tent … sheer craziness dear friends … but then again we do come from the warm north. We did not imagine at the time that it could get so cold in this particular part of our warm brown land … but we soon learned!

A lot of people in other hemispheres are not aware that Australia has every climate known to man and in fact, in some states such as Victoria and Tasmania, they can have four seasons in the one day. There is a saying down there, “If you don’t like the weather when you get up, come back in half an hour and it will have changed!”

For a more detailed map of the temperatures in Australia (than the one above), visit this site thanks to M-R one of my followers:  http://www.bom.gov.au/jsp/ncc/climate_averages/temperature/index.jsp

Therefore dear friends, I am staging a protest on my blog today: a NON Spring Protest. I am doing this by showing you photos from Hervey Bay of our recent Easter holiday in our Autumn … which is probably like spring in the Northern Hemisphere. Just two weeks ago, it was warm and balmy and we were swimming and sunbathing. A true sub-tropical Autumn day. Now, we are freezing cold … it’s hard to take.

Oh and by the way, I’m not actually in a bad mood either. I’m feeling rather happy. I’ve had a lovely weekend with my two granddaughters who stayed with us. While Violet (7) spent most of her time glued to the TV set, Alice (12) made up for her inactivity by doing lots of it … NON-Spring activity that is.

As it was so cold, it was wonderful to have things cooking in the oven which warmed up the house: sweet and sour pork casserole, pear and choc chip muffins on Saturday then cheese scones for lunch on Sunday. Yummy … what fun the two of us had together! I love cooking … my daughter loves cooking … and now my granddaughter loves it too. How blessed can one person be?

Speaking of photos of Hervey Bay, Alice also helped me decorate my online Hervey Bay photo albums which I was making for the family.  So without further ado, here are the photos below of our NON-SPRING Easter with the family.

I do hope all of you ‘out there in the Northern Hemisphere’ enjoy the coming of Spring after your cold winter. And I have been suitably silenced into submission: it is perfectly okay for other people to be having SPRING when we live (mostly) in this warm brown land called Australia!

Look at the gorgeous weather during our NON-SPRING Easter with the family in a seaside town called Hervey Bay, four hours north of Brisbane, Australia. . town called Hervey Bay.

Look at the gorgeous weather during our NON-SPRING Easter with the family in a seaside town called Hervey Bay, four hours north of Brisbane, Australia.

All the sailboats were out on the bay over Easter.

All the sailboats were out on the bay over Easter.

Children at the local water park having fun at Easter; basking in the warm weather.

Children at the local water park having fun at Easter; basking in the warm weather.

Fun with the family on a hired surf ski.

Fun with the family on a hired surf ski.

Easter baskets looking forlorn in the corner while everyone is having fun in the sun.

Easter baskets looking forlorn in the corner while everyone is having fun in the sun.

See more SPRING photos on this link: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/spring-2/

 

