Weekly Photo Challenge: Threshold

A threshold is a point of entering; that point just before a new beginning — that split-second moment in time, full of anticipation. All the hard work is over; relief is palpable.

I n a post created specifically for this challenge, share a photo that captures the threshold — that point just before the action happens, that oh-so-sweet moment of anticipation before that new beginning. It could be a door about to open, or something a bit more metaphorical like a flower about to bloom.

 

Hello all

Today I am approaching the Photo Challenge in a different way. I have been motivated by BOATS and by a HYMN! Two very different things I grant you dear friends, but put them together and you have my post about THRESHOLDS.

You see, it began like this. At church on Sunday we sang a hymn which really spoke to me about new beginnings which are indeed thresholds. The chorus of the hymn especially, speaks about pushing off from the shore in my boat and going out into the deep to find out what I should be doing with my life.

The chorus: “so I leave my boats behind … Leave them on familiar shores … Set my heart upon the deep … Follow you again my Lord” suggests being on the threshold of a brand new life.

It speaks of leaving behind familiarity and going into places that are unknown to us (represented by the deep ocean). Each stage of life suggests we leave the shore in our boat and venture out into new territory in order to find ourselves. I love this concept and wanted to use it for the photo challenge of THRESHOLD today. My own story of boats and thresholds reads like this:

When I retired I felt I was on the threshold of a brand new life but it was hard to leave the shore of my familiar life to take my boat into the deep in order to find out what I wanted to do next. I was not prepared to simply retire and do nothing.  Five years down the track I am very comfortable with where I am and I could give up and stay here.

However, another challenge beckons as I approach my seventies. I find myself in yet another boat, ready for a new adventure. The hymn spoke to me about this stage:

“As I gaze into the night … Down the future of my years … I’m not sure I want to walk … Past horizons that I know”.

Yes, I’m not sure  I want to look ‘down the future of my years’. There is a certain fear about getting older. I am on the threshold of another era and I really do want to put out into the deep beyond the fears that hem me in. I want to be brave enough to push off into the deep and find what I am looking for.  Therefore dear friends, I have used photos of boats that I encountered when Geoff and I were adventuring throughout Europe in 2008, to express myself in Threshold today.

Enjoy my THRESHOLD … Leaving My Boats Behind.

    “Galilee Song”

Deep within my heart I feel
Voices whispering to me;
Words that I can’t understand
Meanings I must clearly hear.
Calling me to follow close,
Lest I leave myself behind!
Calling me to walk into
Evening shadows one more time.

Chorus
So I leave my boats behind!
Leave them on familiar shores!
Set my heart upon the deep.
Follow you again my Lord.

2.
In my memories I know
How you send familiar rains,
Falling gently on my days
Dancing patterns on my pains!
And I need to learn once more,
In the fortress of my mind:
To believe in falling rains
While I travel deserts dry.

Chorus

3.

As I gaze into the night,
Down the future of my years,
I’m not sure I want to walk
Past horizons that I know.
But I feel my spirit called
Like a stirring deep within
Restless ’til I live again
Beyond the fears that close me in.

The Harbour of Dubrovnick on the threshold of Croatia

The Harbour of Dubrovnik the gateway (threshold) of Croatia

Katacolon: the gateway to Olympia

The fishing village of Katacolon on the coast: the gateway to ancient Olympia in Greece which we visited.

The boats  that take you to the Blue Pool cave at the Isle of Capri

The boats that take you to the Blue Pool cave on the Isle of Capri, Italy. The entrance is only accessible on certain tides as it is very small. Some days it is too rough to go inside but we managed it!

An old fishing boat in Marseille Harbour

This old fishing boat in Marseille Harbour in France sits amongst all the beautiful fishing boats and yachts; it has taken many people away from familiar shores.

 

Visit more photos here: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/threshold/#comments

