Hello dear friends
 
I had some girlfriends for lunch recently and as I wanted to keep things simple because I was very busy, I bought a cooked chicken; one friend came with a lovely salad, another brought dip and crackers for morning tea. The third friend surprised me with two bottles of Boost Juice … you know the juice you buy at the shopping centre which is lovely. All I had left to do was provide dessert.

I knew just the thing! I had a large packet of frozen raspberries and as I always keep chopped up ripe bananas in the freezer, I knew that Raspberry Sorbet would be perfect for such an occasion. All I had to do was have my new Jamie Oliver Food Processor on the bench (I wrote a blog about this recently (https://tessross.wordpress.com/2014/03/09/i-think-im-in-love-with-jamie-oliver) and when the time was right – after lunch – throw the ingredients in and whizz it up until it turned into sorbet.

I never imagined how well this would go over … especially when served in the fluted bowls on a stand that I keep for such an occasion. I have made this dessert before for my grandchildren and have had rave reviews! The funny part of it was, one of my granddaughters doesn’t like banana so when she offered to help me, I said “No sweetie, let me do it on my own and I’ll surprise you!”

The bowls are like this only plain. Aren't they gorgeous?

The bowls are like this only plain. Aren’t they gorgeous?

Oh, I know I am devious but it is the only way when you know your deception is for good … well, that’s what I tell myself anyway especially when the child is thoroughly delighted at the pink dessert in the pretty bowls and loves it. Well worth it in the end. Nutritious food at its best!

On other matters, it has been a difficult week for me. My sister-in-law who has lymphoma nearly died on Monday from pneumonia, but rallied on Tuesday after the family came to Brisbane from near and far, to say goodbye. She has now been flown home to Hervey Bay where she has lived for some years but it is only a matter of time as she is too ill for chemotherapy. However, she was sitting up chatting when we last saw her on Thursday and we were all astounded.

This afternoon the house is quiet. Everyone has gone home to continue with their respective lives. It feels strange. Geoff and I are a little lost, but we were so tired after Geoff’s other sister went home at lunch time that we sat down to watch some TV when we returned and were asleep in minutes! The drama is not over yet and we await more news re Sylvia’s well-being before we head up to Hervey Bay to be with her when the time comes.

It is a sad time I know, yet something special takes place when you spend time with family that you see very rarely due to the children being grown up with children of their own. It is a unique opportunity to love and support one another. As someone unknown said:

Being a family means you are a part of something very wonderful. It means you will love and be loved for the rest of your life.

In the meantime, I have managed to attend the gym on Tuesday and Thursday before going to the hospital and this morning I was up at 6am to be at ANOTHER Boot Camp at 7am at Beenleigh (10 mins away). My claim to fame today is that I did kick-boxing! And I encouraged my gym buddy Pat to have a go at it too. She swore she would NEVER do kick-boxing … but she did … we can’t believe we are doing these things!

Am I addicted dear friends? Who knows? I did feel it combated the stress I was feeling though and I can recommend it to anyone who feels in need of stress relief. Who would have thought I would become a gym aficionado? Not in a million years.

Now on that note, I want to leave you with the recipe for Raspberry Sorbet as one of the friends from my lunch has asked me for it. Enjoy this especially during the heat of summer.

 

raspberry-ice-cream-3Raspberry Sorbet

1 frozen banana sliced (I slice ripe ones and put in a container in the freezer)
1 cup frozen raspberries
1/4 cup coconut milk or cream

Sweeten with honey if too tart (I used a little but I don’t always, it depends on the sweetness of the banana)

Put all ingredients in a food processor or blender which can handle frozen fruit (needs a strong motor) Hint: measure the ingredients and have them ready in the freezer.

Serve in beautiful bowls that make you feel you are eating something special … no one will ever know how easy it was to make if you don’t tell them …

(I adapted this recipe from
http://www.wholefoodsimply.com/raspberry-ice-cream/
– you can follow the alternate recipe on this link but I like this simple version I have given here. The alternative one has other things added to it).

