Hello all

Have you ever noticed that some days do not go according to plan? Well, today was one of those days dear friends … but it turned out to be a far more interesting day than what I could ever have planned. And do you know what? I feel great about it. It’s like going on a mini adventure without hardly leaving home. Also, I believe that a day like today teaches you things you need to know … just not sure what they are as yet!

It all began at 7.15 am when my granddaughter Alice phoned and said “Grandma, my GO Card (bus card) is not working, can you have a look at it online for me?” which led to phone calls etc. Next a friend sent me a text to ask me to book a short holiday for her with my holiday credits company which led to searches and phone calls … all good and I was happy to oblige. The next text came in from my gym buddy Pat asking “When are we going to the gym?” What next, I wondered?

Talking to my daughter after I had fixed the GO card debacle, I said to her with a laugh: “Am I your private secretary?”  She replied “No, but  I need a personal assistant!”

In between all this, I got a call to say that our Shakespeare classes (which were to recommence today) were postponed for two weeks.  I haven’t even commenced reading my Book Club book for next week as yet, let alone take on Shakespeare at the moment.

Hurrah! What good timing, I thought to myself as I hung up the phone. Let’s all applaud.

No need to rush around now. Last Monday I was at the gym early in the morning and would have missed these early morning calls but things have changed this week. Pat and I are off to the gym on Tuesdays and Thursdays now with our 9 Week Challenge looming next Saturday 8th February.

The bell is tolling dear friends! I hear it’s call … not a call to prayer but to exercise. Mind you, I think I should do just that: step up the prayers for courage to actually BEGIN the challenge.

Perhaps it’s a Freudian slip to pray saying I hear the bell tolling? For so long, Challenge Day has been off in the distance … now the count down makes it only six days away! I feel so lethargic as I write, that I wonder where I’ll get the energy to commence this challenge. In saying that, I have to remind myself that I’ve done lots of things today and now as the day is drawing to a close, I should feel good about that.

My portabello mushrooms

My portabello mushrooms

One thing I did do while I was out shopping was visit our local greengrocer looking for capsicums to stuff with mince, only to discover they are out of season and very expensive. Instead, I bought two very large mushrooms. Yes, I know what you’re thinking … it does sound strange to buy only TWO mushrooms!

Okay bear with me here … they are HUGE mushrooms and yes I can and will stuff them instead of the capsicums for which I bought all the ingredients … it can be done, just wait and see when I finish baking them later on.

Indeed, buying these beautiful mushrooms has made me see why the French on TV cooking shows visit the fresh food markets to see what takes their fancy to cook for dinner. When you see the produce on offer that day, suddenly you just KNOW what you want to cook. You get inspired!

And this is what happened to me today when I saw those big saucer-size mushrooms staring up at me. They almost shouted out at me: “Buy me!” And I replied “You look so fresh and sparky … yes I will.”

My stuffed mushrooms after baking them in the oven.

My stuffed mushrooms after baking them in the oven.

The Greek fruiterers wife and I discussed what you could do with the mushrooms and she understood perfectly how I felt … being a foodaphile just like me. As I left, I called out to her “I’ll let you know how they go.” Now, I can’t wait to get into the kitchen to see what I can create.

In the meantime, in between the secretarial distractions of more phone calls, text messages, cancelling hair appointments and booking retreat days and Alice texting me to say she was waiting at the bus stop and could I phone her PLEASE, I lovingly wrapped up the mushrooms in paper and put them in the fridge so they would stay nice and perky for dinner.

Oh, and I mustn’t forget about the rainbow cake website I could stuck looking at in between activities either … as I was inspired to want to bake some of these rainbow gems with my granddaughters. In fact, this website got my creative juices going … showing me just what I too could achieve with a website in the future. Visit thewhoot.com.au/whoot-news/recipes/rainbow-ideas to find out more.

Oh, what a day it has been! It reminds me of the heading I saw on the Tiny Buddha website: “Life Happens When You Listen: Let Yourself Learn from the Moment.” The author Claire Massingham writes: “I believe that the world is always sending us messages, prompts, advice, hints, or whatever we need to steer us in the direction of our heart’s desire.” This is worth reading folks:/tinybuddha.com/blog/life-happens-when-you-listen-let-yourself-learn-from-the-moment/

Yes Claire, I would agree, only I would say that it is God who sends us these things THROUGH the every day events in the world, to direct and guide us. But being aware enough to listen is the key.

Today feels like one of those days … for I had been praying in the morning for direction about some things. So now I just need some time to mull on the day and discover what it is that I need to see. And as for those rainbow cakes, here are a few pictures to whet your appetite.

