Weekly Photo Challenge: FAMILY

Perhaps more to the point of this photo exercise, family is something that most of us care deeply about and that we find around us every day. Photographing our family not only gives us the chance to share something close to our heart, but affords us the opportunities often required to capture an image in a very special way.

What is family? For some, family is defined by genetics. For others, it is simply those with whom you share a bond of love. This week, in a post created specifically for this challenge, share a photo showing family. dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/17/photo-challenge-family-2/

Hello dear friends

As the week begins today I have returned to the gym … yep three days a week with one week down already. But, with the beginning of another week comes the Weekly Photo Challenge from WordPress. How I love when Saturday comes and the challenge appears on my Reader screen. By Monday I am rearing to go so here I am. Remember that the larger photos are below this post.

I love that this week’s challenge is about FAMILY mainly because I have spent so much time with my grandchildren in the last few days that I am feeling all warm and fuzzy toward them – from the eldest Alice (12) to the youngest Maddie (1). I have taken quite a few photos during this time but the ones that I want to show today are from last summer when Geoff (Bampy) and I went to Coochiemudlo Island with our daughter Maria and her two children.

There is nothing like the combination of a brilliant summer’s day and a ferry ride to an island not far away to make your heart sing. On this particular day, the children swam in the sea and played on the sand all morning. This was followed by a picnic lunch and a snooze while the children continued to play and have fun on a beach which is so safe for children, that only one adult needs to supervise, while the others snooze. The perfect spot for a family!

FAMILY is very important to me, but having children was not initially a big priority. Perhaps it was minding all of my sisters and brothers children when I was still young and at home with Mum that made me feel I didn’t need to have children. They gave me such joy that I felt satisfied.

I have often told younger friends who couldn’t decide whether or not to have children: “don’t depend on feelings.” I had no maternal instincts before I had my first child. Even through the pregnancy I was not over elated either. Geoff on the other hand was the one pushing the agenda and he was over the moon!

However, all that changed when they put that wee premature bub in my arms after a long six-week wait. I was in love! I knew that I would defend this child to my death … that I would do anything for her … and nothing much has changed since then.

I value FAMILY so much that it caused me to stay in my marriage when things were very difficult at times and my husband and I did not see eye to eye. Thankfully, it worked itself out and I never had to make any big decisions that would have parted us as a family. I do however, feel for those who have no choice but to make this decision!

Sometimes, I think life was easier for us during this time as splitting up was a last resort and not easy. It forced you to sort things out if they could be. So, here we are 43 years later, still together and enjoying our family life more than we ever dreamt we would. And yes, families are not perfect and there can be some argy bargy at times, but we try to weather it as best we can and keep loving one another as we sort things out. And don’t forget learning to apologise and forgiveness … the two keys.

So today dear friends, I present to you: FAMILY AT ITS BEST.

There is nothing like going on a day trip to a nearby island with family. On this occasion I was with my daughter and granddaughters last summer and captured this lovely photos of a day out.

There is nothing like going on a day trip to a nearby island with family. On this occasion I was with my daughter and granddaughters last summer. Here is Maria and Alice outside on the ferry as I captured this photo inside the ferry.

Maria (L) with Violet (M) and Alice (R) enjoy the scenery as the ferry takes us to Choochiemudleo Island

Maria (L) with Violet (M) and Alice (R) enjoy the scenery as the ferry takes us to Choochiemudleo Island. A photo of someone taking a photo!

The thing about family is you can relax with each other ... one moment close up and personal and the next ...

The thing about family is you can relax with each other … one moment close up and personal and the next …

You can do your own thing and ignore one another without anyone getting offended.

… you can do your own thing and ignore one another without anyone getting offended.

And look at the happiness and joy on the faces of the two sister ... engrossed in gathering things from the sea and looking very pleased with themselves.

And look at the happiness and joy on the faces of the two sisters … engrossed in gathering things from the sea and looking very pleased with themselves indeed.

