Hello dear friends

“Grandma, I hope you are alive in 12 years time so you can be at my wedding” said Alice (12) while we were in bed during the night and couldn’t sleep.

“Why Alice, are you planning to get married when you’re 24 years old? Who’s the lucky man?”

We did laugh over this conversation but it turns out that her father said she would be wise to get married around age 24 so she is aiming for marriage at this age … however, she is yet to find the groom at this time!

In fact, this levity led us to discuss my dying … yep, that’s right, we were discussing when I might die. Interesting for a grandmother and granddaughter eh?

Alice and me on a visit to Sydney for our birthday (one day apart) in 2011. Loving one another ...

Alice and me on a visit to Sydney for our birthdays (one day apart) in 2011. Loving one another …

When I informed Alice that I could live for another 20+ years yet so I wasn’t planning on ‘popping off’ anytime soon, she replied that I would be rather old in 20 years time. I replied that I would 87 years old … and plenty of people lived to this age, so why not me if I keep active and well.

Alice replied “Oh yes Grandma, you are only in your sixties now aren’t you?” She thought I looked young but I seem to her to be sooo old at the same time. She said that I could possibly live to 100 but I must be sure not to die at 99 as this would not be fair!

She ended by saying “Grandma, I will be sad when you die but I will be sure to tell my children how much we loved one another.”

Very comforting don’t you think? And the conversation ended on that note.

I thought no more of it until both of us were on the computer looking at amazing photos I obtained via my Facebook feed when I showed her the title of the photos  41 Places To See Before You Die (Part I). I reminded her of our conversation during the night. She laughed as she replied casually “Oh that … yes I remember it!” as if it was a dream from a long time distant memory that was now being retrieved.

So in honour of Alice and our conversation on “Before I Die …” I am sharing some of these beautiful photos with all of my followers. Sure, I would love to see some of these Before I Die but whether or not I have enough time, remains to be seen. In the meantime, Alice and I plan to enjoy as much of each other as we can.

There is never a dull moment when she is around. I am indeed blessed to have her as my eldest grandchild. The websites for the first two photos are  www.boredpanda.com/amazing-places/.

I like what the blurb says before the photos:

“No matter how advanced our cities and technology is, eventually we get tired of all the noise, stress and crowd of the city and want to be in the nature.

Humans have transformed Earth beyond recovery, but luckily not everything is lost yet. Beautiful mountains, blue water lakes, magnificent oceans with fabulous islands – our planet has many breathtaking places and awe-inspiring sceneries just waiting for you to discover them.

However, life is short, and the funds are limited, so we have to narrow down the selection. Knowing that you are just another lazy panda, we’ve done it for you!

We’ve picked 41 most amazing places in the world, however it is said that “beauty is in the eye of the beholder”, so you may as well have your very own personal list of places to see before you die.”

The rest of the photos are from:  www.boredpanda.com/amazing-places-to-see-before-you-die/

Iceland

Street in Bonn in Germany

Wisteria Flower Tunnel in Japan ... definitely want to go here.

Wisteria Flower Tunnel in Japan … definitely want to go here.

Santorini, Greece as the sun sets. Got to get to this island before I die!

Santorini, Greece as the sun sets. Got to get to this island before I die!

Petra in Jordan ... when they are not fighting.

Petra in Jordan … when they are not fighting.

Iceland ... a place I definitely want to visit before I die

Iceland … a place I definitely want to visit before I die

More of Iceland

More of Iceland

Bora Bora Island in Tahaiti - a place I have actually visited on a cruise.

Bora Bora Island in Tahaiti – a place I have actually visited on a cruise.

Wave Rock Arigzona ... yep want to see this.

Wave Rock Arigzona … yep want to see this.

Socrotra Island in Yemen but no Salmon Fishing at present!

Socrotra Island in Yemen but no Salmon Fishing at present!

