Weekly Photo Challenge: Window

Windows are everywhere. Depending on where you are — your bedroom, your office, a hotel room, or a tiny tourism office overlooking a lively street in a beach town in the Dominican Republic, shown above — a window can reveal different things.

They are portals into the world’s stories. Glimpses into other people’s lives. Looking out (or into) a window can tell you about where you are — and where you’re not — and mark a particular moment in time, linking you to a physical place. Windows are also enablers of our daydreams and desires, and can stir up memories and big ideas.

WordPress asks: “This week, in a post created specifically for this challenge, share a photo with a window.”

Hello dear friends

Fresh from surviving my day at the gym yesterday, I am a little worse for wear today … but I’m soldiering on regardless thank you very much indeed! At least, I have begun my Fitness Journey and I feel very good about that. 9 Week Challenge here I come!

Don’t forget, if you are interested in my Fitness Journey and you cannot help wanting to know more, you can follow the Diary I am writing about getting fit – as well as my two other new year resolutions – under the Resolutions Diary tab on the top of my blog. You will find my musings since I began at the gym.

Now back to the matter at hand. It’s that time of week again when I like to share the Weekly Photo Challenge with you all. I chose three different photos of windows this time with explanations beneath the photos. A tease at the top of the blog and the bigger photos below.

I like this quote I found today:

“He left the drapes open, watched the lights of the cars and of the fast food joints through the window glass, comforted to know there was another world out there, one he could walk to anytime he wanted.”
Neil Gaiman, American Gods

It reminded me of the days when an old lady who lived in our street – but rarely went out – would sit by her window watching what was happening in the street, or waving to people who walked by.

Geoff’s mother also was a very shy country lady and Geoff tells the story that she sat by the window watching everyone go by, as the street was a public thoroughfare. Sad really, wasn’t it? Sad that these older women could be so lonely that they had to look through their windows and ‘watch’ the world go by rather than have any interactions with it. It was a way of feeling that they had company and had made a connection with the outside world.

So today, I am pleased to bring WINDOWS to all those out there, who love window shopping or just love looking out at the view and feeling good at what they see. Or is it a case of: some people feel too sad/depressed to be out amongst people but cannot force themselves to go out so they sit and LOOK OUT the window instead …. which makes them feel better about being sad on their own perhaps?

“there are two types of people in the world: those who prefer to be sad among others, and those who prefer to be sad alone.”
Nicole Krauss, The History of Love

Therefore, today I present to you photos which say: WINDOW!

I took this photo two years ago from our family room window. The cactus plants were flowering and looked so nice in my father's old wheelbarrow.

I took this photo two years ago from our family room window. The cactus plants were flowering and looked so nice in my father’s old wheelbarrow. We’d had a lot of rain that year and the garden was lush and green. I love this photo!

I took this photo in the little heritage town of Morpeth near the Hunter Valley in New South Wales. The shop was closed but the things inside the shop looked so interesting. I was sorry they were closed that day.

I took this photo looking INTO a window not OUT OF a window. It was taken in the little heritage town of Morpeth near the Hunter Valley in New South Wales. The shop was closed but the things inside the shop looked so interesting. I was sorry they were closed that day so I took a photo instead.

This too was taken in the heritage town of Morpeth. We were having a coffee in a French cafe and sat on the verandah overlooking the Hunter River. They had created this 'window ' with curtains - but no real window existed!

This too was taken in the heritage town of Morpeth. We were having a coffee in a French cafe and sat on the verandah overlooking the Hunter River. They had created this ‘window’  with curtains – but no real window existed! It was hard to see the river when seated but the view of the flowering trees was lovely.

A window with a difference! This was taken at The Hunter Valley Gardens and a hedge was used as a window into the next garden. I love this so much.

A window with a difference! This was taken at The Hunter Valley Gardens and a hedge was used as a window into the next garden. I simply cannot get enough of the Hunter Valley Gardens!

To see a few other WINDOW photos visit:

http://homelifeonline.wordpress.com/2014/01/11/weekly-photo-challenge-window/

http://agent909.wordpress.com/2014/01/10/weekly-photo-challenge-window/

http://agent909.wordpress.com/2014/01/10/weekly-photo-challenge-window-2/

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/10/photo-challenge-window/

