Hello all

Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning

 WordPress sent through this challenge for the week which is very fitting for the last day of the Christmas Season. A whole new season began today. The Christmas tree will need to come down and all the trappings that say ‘Christmas’ will get packed away until the end of the year. WordPress put it so well when they said to us bloggers:

“Hello, 2014. And hello and happy new year to our readers, old and new. This week’s theme might be obvious, but I couldn’t help it — it’s a simple and common word, yet can evoke very powerful, emotional images.

This week, in a post created specifically for this challenge, show us BEGINNING.”

Well, the Twelve Day of Christmas came and went yesterday but because I had a big family gathering for New Year – before our son-in-law went back to Timor to work – I never did get to publish my blog: BEGINNING so here I am today instead.

Because of Steve’s leaving, we were very aware of beginnings …. as well as ENDINGS so I have decided to add endings into my challenge today. Have you noticed dear friends, that every new beginning comes because something old is ending?

The old year 2013 ended as the new year 2014 was beginning. A whole new year … a clean slate … on which to write whatever new is going to be written. Look around you and start noticing folks. Embracing something new involves letting go of something old. That’s just the way it is. Which leads me to ask: what do I need to end in order for my New Year resolutions to begin … and become reality?

Perhaps in losing 10 kilos (resolution #1) I have to give up my comfort zone of not exercising and of eating whatever I feel like eating? The old way is not working … it must end. With resolution #2 which is to earn money from my writing, I will have to end the easy going  way I presently attack my writing and do things differently to what I do them now. It’s so much easier the old way, I tell myself.

For some of us it means giving up our victim mentality, or giving up being stuck in doing things in a familiar way – a way which no longer works. New beginnings involve not doing things the same as we’ve always done them. We have to do things differently … form new habits, make new friends or just get through the unpleasantness of giving up our normal routine and learning a new routine.

Let’s see how it affects the story of the two photos I have chosen for this post: Alice and Madeleine.

My eldest granddaughter Alice (12) ended her primary school years in December and is about to have a new beginning at high school in a couple of weeks time. She is feeling sad about leaving behind her old school and a lot of friends who will not be attending the same high school. However, she is EXCITED about her new high school too and she even bought her new uniform with her yesterday to show me how she will look. So there it is: sadness and excitement at the same time.

Yes, new beginnings … Alice is growing up and with the start of high school, a whole new life is going to open up for her. She will find a new rhythm in her life.

There there is my youngest granddaughter Madeleine (1) who has been crawling everywhere for months now and we are wondering when she will walk. The thing is, she hurt her foot/leg just before she turned one in November and has been hampered a little in her walking efforts. However … guess what? Yesterday as Bampy (Grandpa) was walking her around the family room, she actually let go of his hand and stood alone and took her first step without realising it!

The family spontaneously cheered: “Wow! … yeah!!” and began clapping and saying “clever girl!” But do you know what, she KNEW she was clever. Oh yes! The big grin said it all. I did not capture that moment on film folks, but I promptly got my camera and took a photo afterwards. And another thing, we should all feel clever like Maddie when we master something new! That’s the reward for accomplishing the new thing … self-satisfaction; another word is : empowerment.

Yes … new beginnings … Maddie is leaving crawling behind in order to walk. A whole new experience for her as she sees things from higher above the ground and gets places quicker also. 

Therefore today I present to you ‘BEGINNING’ as it relates to my eldest and youngest granddaughters. I have then added some ENDING photos from Alice’s Graduation from Primary School as well as a picture of Maddie learning to crawl … again with Bampy’s help. What a great grandfather he is!

Alice dressed in her new high school uniform feeling very chuffed.

Alice dressed in her new high school uniform feeling very chuffed.

Madeleine hanging on to Grandpa's hand as she tries to walk alone for a second time.

Madeleine hanging on to Bampy’s hand as she tries to walk alone for a second time.

Alice and her close friends at her Graduation from primary school

Alice (right) and her close friends at her Graduation from primary school

Alice had to present a review of her time at St. Agnes and this piece was part of it. She has only been for two hears having moved from another state.

Alice had to present a review of her time at St. Agnes and this piece was part of it. She has only been there for two years having moved from another state in 2012.

Again, there was Bampy's arms encouraging Maddie to crawl. Now, all that's ending.

Again, Bampy’s hands were ready encouraging Maddie to crawl. Now, all that’s ending.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/03/photo-challenge-beginning/

