On the Sixth Day of Christmas my true love gave to me:  Six Geese a Laying …

Hello all

What has been happening here in my world on this the Sixth Day of Christmas? Well, I don’t need any geese … or for that matter, any geese a laying either. I could do with some potato bake though to go with the leg of ham that Geoff opened last night. Perhaps the ‘Twelve Days god’ could substitute six nice potatoes please …

geeseYou see, as we had eaten all of the left-over pork, chicken, ham (that our son brought with him) plus the Lebanese kibbe – all of which we had for Christmas – it was time to crack open OUR ham and to continue being lazy as far as meals are concerned at this time of year.) And for kibbe see: /en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kibbeh

What a godsend! Whilst others were Googling 101 ways to use leftover ham, we hadn’t even started our ham as yet. However, as I had been reading in the Sunday paper about 101 uses for leftover ham, I thought I should Google it anyway and see if this search did indeed exist.

Well, yes it did! Right there at: mrswskitchen.blogspot.com.au/2008/12/101-ways-to-use-leftover-ham.html. I found exactly what I was looking for – as large as life: a blog with ‘101 Ways to Use Leftover Ham’. I was hugely impressed!

But … there was more.

When I put ‘101 ways to …’ into Google, I got more than what I had bargained for. I got:

101 Uses for Coconut Oil: (http://skinnyms.com/101-uses-for-coconut-oil)

  • Lowers cholesterol
  • Improves thyroid function
  • Aids with digestion
  • Stabilizes blood sugar
  • Suppresses the appetite
  • Treats Irritable Bowl Syndrome
  • Improves immune function
  • Relieves stress
  • Works as a natural energy boost
  • Prevents dandruff when used as a shampoo
  • Treats ringworm
uses for a pug

Can you think of what you can use a Pug for?

101 Uses for a Pug: (http://www.amazon.com/101-Uses-For-A-Pug/dp/1623430321)

This book provides photographic proof of pugs functioning as car security systems, weed killers, moist towelettes, foot warmers, and more.  In need of some minor garment alterations?  Look no further than an industrious pug!   A total of 101 uses for a pug reveal why these dogs are so lovable and popular.

101 Uses for Avon Skin So Soft Oil: (http://voices.yahoo.com/avon-sss-100-ways-avon-skin-so-soft-563538.html?cat=6)

~ can be used daily to remove makeup and mascara. Helps to relieve dry, itchy skin.Cleans of adhesive marks from band-aids and medical tape. Cleans pen ink, markers and some paint off of your skin.Great for getting a tan. Caution: There is no SPF in AVON SSS. Soothes light sunburns. Great for mechanics to use while washing their hands. It

Of course, there were others too … but do you really want to know 101 uses for a dead cat? No. I don’t think so. Being a cat lover I did find it a bit hard to take. However, I must confess, some of those uses did make me laugh. Does that make me an awful person though? I have a feeling that the jury might just be out on that one …

So dear friends, after I finished reading those 101 uses for leftover ham, half the day had gone and I regretted it immediately … especially as the ham wasn’t even opened at that stage. What was I thinking?

I am here to tell you today that the ham has now officially been opened.

The ham is beautiful … we have spent last night and today savouring its taste. However, check back with me in about a week’s time when Mrs W’s Kitchen and her 101 uses for leftover ham will be by my side as I find ways to use the leftovers which by then will have lost their appeal.

Oh, we are such fickle creatures aren’t we? But do tune in tomorrow for the Seventh Day of Christmas won’t you? In the meantime, here is a snapshot of Mrs W’s ways with leftover ham. She has done a magnificent job of compiling this list:

101 Ways to Use Leftover Ham

  1. Ham & Eggs for Breakfast. You could even have a Dr. Seuss-inspired kid-friendly menu of green eggs and ham.
  2. Strata, the savory answer to french toast casserole, is a great way to use leftovers.
  3. Minced Ham Salad – a sandwich filling or a different kind of stuffing for hard-boiled eggs.
  4. Chopped fine and frozen in ice cube trays, just like you would leftover herbs, is a perfect way to preserve that porky goodness for any future recipe.
  5. Chicken-Escarole Soup – even better with some added ham.
  6. Black-Eyed Peas
  7. Add ham to a mess of Collard Greens for pure southern-style heaven!
  8. Ham Biscuits – another southern staple.
  9. Scalloped Potatoes & Ham
  10. Scalloped Sweet Potatoes & Ham
  11. Chef Salad with Ham & Hard-Boiled Eggs
  12. Broccoli + Ham = almost Mr.W-friendly. Almost.
  13. Ham & Cheese Crescent Roll Wreath – Mix diced ham, swiss and your favorite vegetable with a wee bit of mustard and set aside; separate dough from 2 cans of crescent roll dough and lay out in a wreath form, skinny points out, 2 layers. Press slightly and spread filling on solid areas. Fold pointy ends up over filling. Some areas of filling will be exposed. Bake at 350*F until golden brown. It’s great for a quick lunch, appetizer or tea. See a photo & similar recipe here.
  14. Ham Reuben – replace corned beef with ham for an instant twist on a famous sandwich!
  15. Monte Cristo Sandwich
  16. Penne Pasta with Ham & Peas in Cream Sauce. One word: yum.
  17. Pigeon Peas with Ham
  18. Ham & Cheese Sandwiches. Lettuce? Tomato? Your decision.
  19. Sauteed Rapini & Ham
  20. Spicy Broccoli & Ham Spaghetti – instead of using spicy capicola ham here, just add some red pepper flake and use your holiday ham.
