Hello dear friends

The last days of December are fading into oblivion as I write. We’ve left Christmas Day well and truly behind us as we inch ever closer to another new year.

The Christmas room aka my Family Room converted for  Christmas.

The Christmas room aka my Family Room converted for
Christmas festivities.

Who could believe that only three days ago, my house was filled with the laughter and joy of 11 adults and 5 children as they all enjoyed Christmas Day in their own wonderful way. Even now, I look around the house and see very little evidence that we had two tables joined together decked out in Christmas finery as we ate and drank while we celebrated Christmas cheer together. Oh, it was fun!

The house has been returned to normal … except that the Christmas tree and Nativity scene remain ever-present. Not a lot of people realise that the Twelve Days of Christmas actually begins ON Christmas Day not BEFORE Christmas Day! The 12th day of Christmas ends on the Feast of the Epiphany on Jan 6th when the Magi came bearing gifts for the new-born King. That means today is the Fourth Day of Christmas! 

Let’s all clap … right answer!

Geoff received a couple of sales-type emails nine days before Christmas talking about the twelve days of Christmas and commenting that “there are only 9 days to go” to buy gifts!

Let’s all boo … wrong answer!

When it comes to sales people, I hate to say that I don’t feel terribly positive when they use a traditional Christian feast to peddle their wares.

Oh … it is not very charitable of me I know, but we have become suspicious of these things today haven’t we? It’s like we don’t trust used-car salesmen!! We seem to hear a voice crying out: “be careful … “

But I digress … where was I? Of course, back to the Twelve Days of Christmas. Now, I have done some research into the song “The Twelve Days of Christmas” and found out a lot of things, but I thought I should share this information about the origins of the song:

“The carol has its roots in 18th-century England, as a memory-and-forfeit game sung by British children. In the game, players had to remember all of the previous verses and add a new verse at the end. Those unable to remember a verse paid a forfeit, in the form of a kiss or a piece of candy to the others.” tlc.howstuffworks.com/family/twelve-days-christmas.htm

Interesting isn’t it? Oh, how far we have come since those days! Life was so much simpler then! And what’s more, sects of Christianity celebrate the 12 days of Christmas differently.For example, the Eastern Orthodox Church, consider the Epiphany to be the most important day of the Christmas season. Some even exchange gifts on each of the 12 days instead of on Christmas day.

Now. is that be a good thing to get gifts every day for 12 days? As I already have most things I need, I don’t think I could handle it. Still, if they were small items such as a bag of sweets, or a pair of socks … items that won’t break the bank, all would be well.

Yes indeed … I could accept that very well.

Dear friends, I will close my post now, but I do hope you all had a very Merry Christmas as I did.  I feel so blessed to have had my children and their in-laws here at our home. Therefore, I will now leave you with some of the photos taken from my Christmas 2013 album to give you a taste of what Christmas was like in MY home. Enjoy!

But just remember … on this Fourth Day of Christmas my true love should give me ‘four calling birds!’

(PS this is a slide show which should commence automatically and the lyrics are at the end of this post).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 And for your information here are the lyrics of:

“The Twelve Days of Christmas” 

On the first day of Christmas
my true love sent to me:
A Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the second day of Christmas
my true love sent to me:
Two Turtle Doves
and a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the third day of Christmas
my true love sent to me:
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
and a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the fourth day of Christmas
my true love sent to me:
Four Calling Birds
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
and a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the fifth day of Christmas
my true love sent to me:
Five Golden Rings
Four Calling Birds
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
and a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the sixth day of Christmas
my true love sent to me:
Six Geese a Laying
Five Golden Rings
Four Calling Birds
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
and a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the seventh day of Christmas
my true love sent to me:
Seven Swans a Swimming
Six Geese a Laying
Five Golden Rings
Four Calling Birds
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
and a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the eighth day of Christmas
my true love sent to me:
Eight Maids a Milking
Seven Swans a Swimming
Six Geese a Laying
Five Golden Rings
Four Calling Birds
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
and a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the ninth day of Christmas
my true love sent to me:
Nine Ladies Dancing
Eight Maids a Milking
Seven Swans a Swimming
Six Geese a Laying
Five Golden Rings
Four Calling Birds
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
and a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the tenth day of Christmas
my true love sent to me:
Ten Lords a Leaping
Nine Ladies Dancing
Eight Maids a Milking
Seven Swans a Swimming
Six Geese a Laying
Five Golden Rings
Four Calling Birds
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
and a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the eleventh day of Christmas
my true love sent to me:
Eleven Pipers Piping
Ten Lords a Leaping
Nine Ladies Dancing
Eight Maids a Milking
Seven Swans a Swimming
Six Geese a Laying
Five Golden Rings
Four Calling Birds
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
and a Partridge in a Pear Tree

On the twelfth day of Christmas
my true love sent to me:
12 Drummers Drumming
Eleven Pipers Piping
Ten Lords a Leaping
Nine Ladies Dancing
Eight Maids a Milking
Seven Swans a Swimming
Six Geese a Laying
Five Golden Rings
Four Calling Birds
Three French Hens
Two Turtle Doves
and a Partridge in a Pear Tree

