Weekly Photo Challenge: One

This week WordPress says:

“Every good photograph needs a focal point. It’s the thing that draws the viewer’s eye and tells the story.

This week, we want to see photos that focus on one thing. Maybe you’ve got a stark photo of a single tree silhouetted against the setting sun, or a lone sandpiper wandering the beach as waves crash.

Perhaps you’ve caught your mother sitting by herself in a moment of quiet contemplation.”

Hello dear friends

It is now Boxing Day … Christmas Day came and went in a flurry of high activity. Hectic, full of people … and children … and food … and presents! What a lovely day we had at our house.  I had hoped to get some ‘ONE’ photos then but I was too busy being the Hostess to even give it a thought.

Therefore, you will have to put up with the photos which I took last Christmas holidays (2012) when my daughter and her children joined Geoff and me for a day out at an island off our bay called “Coochiemudlo”.  Yes, a very interesting name but I suspect it is an aboriginal word. Us locals refer to the island simply as “Coochie”

It is a lovely little spot and on this particular summer’s day I captured three photos of the children when they were unaware that I was actually photographing them. Therefore, the photos depicting ‘ONE’ are precious, because they are not posing for me. The fourth photo was of a man who was sitting across from us as we waited for the ferry.

Sorry young man … I have no permission to publish this but you were so lost in thought as you waited that I couldn’t resist and hope you will forgive me!

Therefore today, at a time when I have been absolutely surrounded by more people than I can count over Christmas, I present to you photos at the opposite end of the scale – those that depict others deep in thought … under the banner of:  ONE

P1010324

This young man going fishing was deep in thought … dreaming of the fish he is about to catch perhaps? Taken while waiting for the ferry to Coochiemudlo Island.

My granddaughter Violet mesmerised as she eats a chocolate bar.

My granddaughter Violet mesmerised as she eats a chocolate biscuit. What better after a swim in the ocean?

P1010365

Violet plays in the water … dreaming she is on a deserted island perhaps? Or pretending to be a mermaid! She LOVES mermaids.

P1010359

Alice blows bubbles while she paddles in the water totally lost in thought. Note the bubbles on the right of the photo.

To view more photos from WordPress that represent ONE go to:

dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/20/photo-challenge-one/

 

