Weekly Photo Challenge: GRAND

“Today’s challenge is not just about the size of something. Instead we are asked to show that special element: the “wow factor” of a scene or subject that makes a picture so stunning. That magical quality you are always looking for and so excited to capture with your camera.

We want to see your interpretation of grand, from festive holiday city scenes to the Christmas tree in your living room to other shots that will make our jaws drop.”

Hello dear friends

It’s that time of the week again! I just love showing my photos off. In this regard I am downright ‘pushy’ and want everyone to enjoy them as much as I do, so I keep coming back every week to WordPress to see what the latest photos challenge is about.

This week, I wanted to bring you a city that Geoff and I visited in 2008 during a trip to Europe: VENICE! Oh, how we loved this city! And what’s more, we left on a cruise from here which meant that we saw the city of Venice from the top deck of our cruise ship and  we towered over the city as the ship cruised through the Grand Canal then down the river out into the sea.

I think that the word GRAND describes so well many things that make Venice a very special place, so I have included a few different GRAND pictures.

As usual, I’ve put snapshots of the photos above … and the full-sized photos below with an explanation of each. Enjoy my Weekly Photos!

“GRAND!”

P1000416Sight seeing in the shops around the callies (streets) on San Marco Island (the main island) where we stayed overnight, was an amazing experience. I couldn’t resist taking a photo of this over-the-top costume for hire. Aint it just GRAND?

“AWESOME!”

P1000383San Marco Square is so large that you stand in the vastness of this space, amazed … and you snap photos just as these people are doing trying to capture its size. However, it’s impossible, you can never capture the AWE you feel, on film as you look at the open space and the buildings that surround it.The girl on the left is taking a photo of the amazing San Marco church, but I was captivated by the square itself. I did take a photo of the church though.

“STUNNING!”

P1000420I was captivated with these huge pots filled with flowering azaleas plants: STUNNING! There is nothing small in this place; the hotel has a canal full of gondolas and gondoliers on the right hand side, whilst the left leads to San Marco Square.

“WOW!”

P1000475Finally, we are on our ship … but first there is another ship in front of us in the queue. We watch as the ship, which is the same size as ours, leaves Venice. “WOW!” we say as the ship towers over the city and makes its way to the sea. This is how we will look when we too sail out but I can only capture a photo of the first ship!

“MAGIC!”

P1000484This photo was taken on the top deck as I zoomed my camera into one of the many canals that dot the city. I think I just kept clicking because I couldn’t believe we had such a birds-eye view from ‘on high’ with which to capture this city of canals.  MAGIC!

To see more photos that say ‘GRAND’ visit:

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/06/grand-photo-challenge/

