Weekly Photo Challenge: Unexpected

Unexpected. The world is an interesting place: we stumble upon unexpected things each day, like signs that are unintentionally amusing, bizarre sculptures, or even strange evidence of a miniature world on the side of a building.

So, the photo challenge this week is to capture something unexpected. I could interpret the theme in other ways: a street scene or landscape that just doesn’t look quite right, an impromptu portrait of a loved one, or any other image that reveals a sense of surprise.

I have chosen this photo of my granddaughter Madeleine which was taken at a picnic for Violet’s 7th birthday, another granddaughter. I was taking photos of everyone at the birthday in the park, so I just keep snapping away not really aware of how much detail I was capturing.

Imagine my surprise when I put the photos on the computer, to discover something very UNEXPECTED in one of the photos (above). An activity that almost went unnoticed!

Yep, I had failed to see that little Maddie, who was 9 months at the time, was grabbing a strawberry as I took the photo!

This delightful photo continually makes me smile every time I look at it so when the weekly challenge came up with the theme of:  UNEXPECTED I jumped at the chance to share it with you all! Here is a little verse I wrote for the occasion.

A Strawberry for Sweet Little Madeleine

Sitting amongst the food

She looks so Innocent

And Cute

Working quietly

Activity happening all around

A perfect chance to make her move

While no one looks, she takes her chance

And with little fingers ready

She carefully selects a ripe red strawberry

No grabbing it in one fast move

No!

Delicately, she finds the stalk

And lifts it ever so carefully to her mouth

Ah …  her first taste of  luscious strawberry

But as she takes that first big bight

Her mother swoops

Oops … too late

Gone!

Already down the hatch

The small green stem is all that’s left …

And she smiles at us

Because she knows – in the scheme of things – that she is so very clever!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/22/photo-challenge-unexpected/

