Weekly Photo Challenge: Layers

Layers. Layers can reveal, conceal, and make something more complex. They can vary in size, texture, color, or functionality. Each layer can have its own story, meaning, or purpose. They can overlap, blend, or be distinctly separate. A layer doesn’t have to be a part of a single object but can even be a slice of a multifaceted image or scene.

In a new post specifically for this challenge, share a photo which means LAYERS to you!

Hello dear friends

How I enjoy these Weekly Photo Challenges! I do hope you, my readers, are enjoying looking at them as much as I enjoy presenting them to you. Every Saturday morning (they are put out on a Friday in the USA) I come to my computer anxious to see what this week’s challenge will be.

I love them because it forces me to look differently at how I take photos. For instance, for this week’s challenge – LAYERS – I looked at what I had in my kitchen that would speak of layers and I then came up with the idea of zooming in on a few everyday objects and food that I keep in one small corner of my kitchen. Next, I took a photo of the corner from the long view.

If you look hard (and I have repeated the photos in a large format below) you will see each of the items that I zoomed in on. What fun I had doing this. I was going out for lunch but I couldn’t help myself and I took a few photos whilst getting ready!

When I returned I completed the photo shoot and was finally happy with what I captured. I tell the story below of each picture. Make sure you see the last one which is ‘The Big Picture”.

GARLIC

I love using garlic in my cooking and I use it in many of my dishes ... but sometimes, I have to hold back my hand and refrain from using it. I have got around this by making my own garlic infused oil for when I want a more subtle flavour of garlic. It works!

I love using garlic in my cooking and I use it in many of my dishes … but sometimes, I have to hold back my hand and refrain from using it. I have got around this by making my own garlic infused oil for when I want a more subtle flavour of garlic. It works! It’s easy to do: just slice up some garlic pieces in a small bottle of good olive oil and leave it a few days to infuse.

 

 THE GREAT CONTRAPTION

This contraption is actually a whisk which is sitting in a jar full of utensils. My husband bought it because when you push down on it, it whisks automatically. It IS amazing and so easy to use!

This contraption is actually a whisk which is sitting in a jar full of utensils. My husband bought it because when you push down on it, it whisks automatically. It IS amazing and so easy to use!

 

RED KIDNEY BEANS

I am sure you have guessed these are raw KIDNEY BEANS which we keep in a jar and cook up when needed. Did you know if you cook them from scratch, you cover them in COLD water, bring to the boil for a minute then empty out the water!. Yes, then you begin again. This disposes of toxins that are in the beans. Use what you want and freeze the rest for future use.

I am sure you have guessed these are raw KIDNEY BEANS which we keep in a jar and cook up when needed. Did you know if you cook them from scratch, you cover them in COLD water, bring to the boil for a minute then empty out the water!. Yes, then you begin again. This disposes of toxins that are in the beans. Use what you want and freeze the rest for future use.

 

THE RECIPE COLLECTION

I have a whole heap of small recipe books which I keep handy because I love using them for ideas. Love these tiny little gems of information!

I have a whole heap of small recipe books which I keep handy because I love using them for ideas. Love these tiny little gems of information!

 

THE MYSTERY ITEM

Can you guess what these are? They are large white beans which are looking rather interesting as they are shedding their skins. They are Geoff's favourite bean, but not mine. They remind me too much of being a child and having to sit down to a big plate of these beans in a Lebanese dish which I hated. I'd sit for an hour and couldn't leave the table until they were all gone ... yuk!

Can you guess what these are? They are large white beans which are looking rather interesting as they are shedding their skins. They are Geoff’s favourite bean, but not mine. They remind me too much of being a child and having to sit down to a big plate of these beans in a Lebanese dish which I hated. I’d sit for an hour and couldn’t leave the table until they were all gone … yuk!

 

THE BIG PICTURE

P1030486

This is the full picture of all the items I have used for my ‘Layer upon Layer upon Layer’ zooming in exercise. See IF you can pick all the things photographed; it’s not hard!

A couple of other good ‘Layer’ photos from other bloggers:

http://meandmymegapixels.wordpress.com/2013/11/15/500-layers-of-advertisment/

http://pilvipouta.wordpress.com/2013/11/16/weekly-photo-challenge-layers/

To see all the posts that took part in this week’s challenge.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/15/weekly-photo-challenge-layers/

