P1030385

Daily Prompt from WordPress: Food for the Soul (and the Stomach)

Tell us about your favorite meal, either to eat or to prepare. Does it just taste great, or does it have other associations? Photographers, artists, poets: show us FOOD.

Hello all

Fritters?

Now, there is an interesting word and one you don’t seem to hear much about these days. The word fritter takes me back to the world of the fifties growing up with my mother throwing a whole heap of left-overs into a bowl to which she added eggs, flour, milk and seasonings and frying these little beauties in olive oil for a light supper.

The fritter could change from week to week depending on what left-overs you had in your fridge, but they would always look the same and were usually served up with a salad for an easy tea … such as on Sunday nights. Wikipedia.org/wiki/Fritter explains well what a fritter is:

“Fritter is a name applied to a wide variety of fried foods, usually consisting of a portion of batter or breading which has been filled with bits of meat, seafood, fruit, or other ingredients.”

Corn fritters are a very popular menu item in cafes across cities in Australia; also zucchini fritters made with grated zucchini … but always the flour, milk and eggs form the basis for all the fritters.

Now, I have chosen FRITTERS as my Soul Food because of my fond memories of eating fritters growing up, and a re-discovery in the last few years of putting left-overs to good use for a light meal. And in the last couple of months, I have discovered the wonder – yes folks I did say wonder – of combining the following ingredients that make my Rice and Cheese Fritters the tastiest fritters imaginable!

Do I exaggerate? I don’t think I do and I’ll tell you why. The combination of the rice, the garlic, herbs and cheese cooked in the coconut oil give the fritters a crunchy outer layer which is to die for. Then you bite into the fritters and you get a little gooey cheese with a lingering taste of garlic. But, the best part is that the coconut oil is very good for you (yes, the latest discovery!) and it gives a further amazing taste to the fritter.

So lately, when I get tired of meat and chicken and I know I’m cooking rice, I’ll make a little more … especially to use for making my Rice and Cheese Fritters.

The ‘Soul dear friends, is about ‘the spiritual (or immaterial) part of a human being.’ Therefore Soul Food should nourish the spiritual part of yourself. It should provide nourishment in more ways than one. We live in a very materialistic world so whenever we can do something that nourishes our soul … we must do it.

Perhaps, I’ll even change the name of these fritters in the future to Soul Food Fritters. Enjoy!

P1030386Soul Food Fritters with Rice and Cheese

1 cup white cooked rice (I use leftover rice from the night before)

3 eggs (add milk if necessary)

2 chopped spring onions

1 cup grated tasty cheese

1/4 cup Self Raising flour (I use brown rice flour or buckwheat flour and add baking powder, but use whatever takes your fancy)

1 chopped garlic

herbs of choice (I use rosemary and basil)

season with 1 teaspoon of chicken stock, more salt if required and pepper

add left-over vegetables if you have any on hand.

coconut oil (for cooking fritters)

Method:

Put everything in a large bowl and stir until a dropping consistency. Fry in tablespoon drops in hot coconut oil until bubbles form, then turn over and fry on the other side. Serve with a tossed salad.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/11/daily-prompt-food/

