Weekly Writing Challenge: Moved by Music

Music is powerful: it conjures memories, emotions, and people and things of the past. It’s not only a trigger, but an outlet to express who we are. For this challenge, pick one song and write about it — or use it as inspiration for a post.  Or maybe you’re drawn to a song’s lyrics and want to use them as a springboard for a short piece of fiction. Or a poem. Or a free-write.

music

Hello all

Oh how I love music! It moves the soul, gladdens the heart and soothes the spirit.

Have you ever noticed that when you watch a movie, you take for granted the music that accompanies it and you hardly notice it at all? And yet, if you were to take the music out of the movie, you would then notice that it was missing! Strange isn’t it?

Sometimes, I think my life has been like a movie … there has been music playing in the background right through it … yet I have taken little notice of it at all. Do you have favourite music that has accompanied you through your life?

I think we all do. I remember having my heart broken by my first love and Simon and Garfunkel were playing The Sounds of Silence! Later, whilst  falling in love with my husband, Glen Campbell was singing songs like “Gentle on my Mind” in his easy manner.  Then my daughter was born as ‘A Little Ray of Sunshine’ popped up in the charts. How appropriate!

Now, as Geoff and I grow older together we do things like cook Italian while listening to the Italian tenor Andrea Bocelli … our tastes are more sophisticated today!

This feeling of music that accompanies our lives came to my notice some time ago when I heard a program on the radio about the importance of music. Then last week along came The Weekly Writing Challenge from WordPress that challenged us to write about being “Moved by Music.”

Wishbird-cover-for-website-425x649I had commenced a blog post weeks ago after I heard that first interview on the radio but it was never finished; so here I am writing about it at last!

Actually, it was an interview I heard with the author of a book ‘the wishbird’ written and illustrated by Gabrielle Wang, aimed mostly at teenagers. I was so impressed that I promptly went online and bought the book! I wanted it for my granddaughter Alice (12).

Okay … if I am going to be truthful here, I wanted to read the book myself.  Oh, it’s true confessions now dear friends! The book was a fairy tale really, about a Kingdom which was once called Solace, but when the King banned music from the Kingdom, the name was changed to Soulless.

The story is about the wishbird’ who was banished from the Kingdom for singing. Here is a little about the book from Gabrielle’s website.  gabriellewang.com/books/the-wishbird:

Imagine a world without music.

Imagine if all the singers and musicians disappeared, never to be seen again. Music is outlawed. Even birds are killed because they sing. And because birds live in forests then the forests all around are burnt to stumps. 

Music is an integral part of human existence. Every culture in the world makes music. Without it, the soul dies.

This is at the heart of The Wishbird.

Oh, it sounded so wonderful. As I listened, I was a child again relishing the story and wondering what a world without music would be like. I longed to read it and I was so sure that Alice would too.

Taken from The Wish Bird website.

Taken from The Wish Bird website.

The thing was, when I gave it to Alice, she did not have the appreciation for the book that I had. While this was disappointing, it turned out there were a lot of hard words in it, so we agreed that we would read a chapter every week when I go and  help out the family overnight.

And so Alice and I have begun reading ‘the wishbird’ together. We make ourselves comfortable on the bed and I read the book … and yes, there are some very hard words and concepts which makes me think it would work better for older teenagers or adults.

However, the beauty of this book is: I am able to explain to Alice what the words and concepts mean. This has led to some wonderful interactions. It is learning really … without the classroom folks! Just a wonderful time for discussing life and sharing deeply. I love it!

And it has made Alice and me more aware of the part music plays in our lives.  I cannot imagine music being banned from MY kingdom.  My life would be so much the poorer for it. In fact, as I have been writing, I have an André Rieu DVD playing and André has his eyes closed and is ‘making love’ to his violin as he plays the instrumental version of ‘You Raise Me Up.’

It moves me almost to tears dear friends! Watch it on YouTube at the end of my blog today and it will inspire you and make you feel wonderful. It will indeed raise you up! It has beautiful scenery accompanying on as well.

Now speaking of André, I think he is the right person to have the last word on music, don’t you? I heard him say this today whilst listening (and sometimes watching) the DVD. He was speaking to his audience in Maastricht (Holland) André’s home town:

“Music is an international language. All musicians of the world can speak to each other without knowing the language. With music you can express all your feelings and say all the words you want.”  ~ André Rieu

‘You Raise Me Up’ is a popular song in the inspirational mould.  The music was written by Secret Garden’s Rolf Løvland  and the lyrics by Brendan Graham.  The song has now been covered more than 125 times. With pictures of the Castle Island Mainau in Lake Constance mit Bildern vom Schloss Insel Mainau im Bodensee.

To read more Weekly Challenges go to:

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/04/weekly-writing-challenge-music/

