Weekly Photo Challenge: Habit

Habit. The stuff of the everyday — places we go, things we do, people we see.

This week, show us something that’s a HABIT. It could be your daily walk to the bus stop, or your daily paper lying on the doorstep. Maybe it’s the guy behind the counter at the deli you always visit for lunch, the stuffed bunny your child must have at bedtime, or the view from your desk as you sit down to blog.

My Habit: Eating Oats for Breakfast

Hello all

Oats … oats … and more oats. Can’t get enough of eating oats dear friends! And at least five days a week – but usually six days – you will find Geoff and me cooking rolled oats for breakfast. Sunday however, is always a cooked breakfast … for a change.

Habit? This is not just a habit, this is an obsession! It’s not just for the Scots either, this is for everyone. The HABIT began 18 months ago when my naturopath told me to eat oats for breakfast every morning because they are so good for you. I had eaten them sporadically before that, but when the order came in, that’s when the obsession began.

P1030376

Somehow, I am not complete without my bowl of oats. As you can see from the picture of all the oats, I don’t want to run out of them so it is important to have plenty on hand.  I have two types of wholegrain oats and one lot of minute oats – yep they cook fast when you are in a hurry.

Next, I have put everything together in the picture that I use to make the oats: milk which is added to the water whilst cooking them and a little cinnamon and nutmeg, plus a pinch of salt. It’s not the same without that pinch of salt folks. Oh and you add some sultanas in there if it takes your fancy as well, something we often do.

The organic honey and a little milk is added once they are served and … voilà … the oats are ready to eat!

You know, I loved looking at other people’s pictures that said ‘HABIT’ and I suppose I could have added a few other photos of habits to the mix but I thought I would stick to the oats, just like the oats stick to the ribs and make the habit of morning porridge worthwhile … a really good obsession to have.

Enjoy!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/08/weekly-photo-challenge-habit/

