Hello dear friends,

Tonight I’m childminding at my daughter’s house so I thought I would share something with you that I found earlier in the day. It is not often that I share a post from someone else, but this particular blog caught my attention on Facebook before I left home.

I have no idea who the person is that is being written about, but it really touched a place in my heart that was very tender. As it is about loss, it reminded me of losing my sister earlier this year and expressed many of the sentiments that I still feel. And besides, there is a recipe underneath the post which was the real reason I clicked on the link from Facebook!

I was looking for food … and I found nourishment of a different kind. When you have finished reading it, you can then save the recipe for another day. What a great idea! The link to the food blog is below. Thanks to Whole Foods Simply for this lovely piece.

www.rosehewartson.com

whole orange and carrot cake

 

“I lit this candle. I thought of you. I gave thanks for all that you taught me. I am blessed to have been raised amongst your free spirit, your humorous persona and your loving heart. You have played an integral role in our family, so often bringing us together, making us laugh, and filling our hearts with warmth. However, let us not pretend that this has always been the way.

Eighteen years ago we were living together, you were the closest thing I would ever have to a Sister, and in true sibling style we fought, and we fought, and we fought. For so many years I drove you crazy and yet as soon as we were apart we missed each other, we asked about each other, we wanted to be together again. That home needed the three of us, once links started missing nothing has ever felt the same.

You taught me, all of us, the importance and strength of family. Time and again you showed us that there was nothing else. You ensured we laughed at the little things, that we stopped long enough to chat, that we always sat and drank a cup of tea, and never forgot a birthday.

My mind is overjoyed that you are with your Mum again; I know there is no other place you have wanted to be. My heart hurts and my eyes cry because I want to hear you laugh, I want your cheekiness, your cleverness, your stubborn ways. Mostly I want to hold your hand. To say we love you is not enough, we thank you for all that you taught us, for all that you gave us, and for all that you are. Safe and warm now baby girl, back in Gran’s arms. I will hold on to our memories and speak of you joyfully until we meet again.”

Whole Orange and Carrot Cake

2 carrots, quartered

1 (150 grams) orange, quartered

1/2 cup honey or maple syrup

1/2 cup coconut flour, sifted

80 grams melted butter or melted coconut oil or macadamia oil

5 eggs

1 teaspoon bicarb soda

1 teaspoon chinese 5 spice

pinch of salt

Coconut Citrus Frosting

1 cup desiccated coconut

40 grams butter or coconut oil

2 tablespoons honey or maple syrup

60 grams melted butter or coconut oil (I think the juice of half a lemon could work here also, I will be sure to try that next time, let me know if you beat me to it)

zest of two lemons (optional)

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees Celcius or 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Line a square 20x20cm cake tin with baking paper.

In your blender or food processor chop the carrots and orange until very fine, add the remaining ingredients, mix well, pour into prepared pan. Bake for 40 minutes or until golden on top and an inserted skewer comes out cleanly.

Allow cake to cool in pan before moving to a cooling rack.

To make the frosting blend the first three ingredients together, add melted butter or coconut oil gradually until desired consistency is reached. Spread the frosting over the cooled cake. Enjoy.

http://www.wholefoodsimply.com/whole-orange-and-carrot-cake-with-coconut-frosting/

