Hello dear friends

Thank you to all the people who sent me lovely messages about my post: My-Grandmother-a-Stranger-in-a-Strange-Land/ where I took on the persona of my grandmother and told the story of her coming to Australia around 1895. The general message is: TELL US MORE!

In other words, what happened next!? Okay then, I have heard you so I will write Part 2 of my grandmother’s story next week … from her arrival in Melbourne to her marriage at age 22 yrs. Now onto things of beauty …

“Even the prettiest flower will wilt one day. It’s nature’s way of teaching us that nothing lasts forever” ~ Unknown ~

But earlier this week, I did promise you some pictures of my beautiful cactus flowers. The thing is about these flowers: they don’t last very long. Usually, they bud, then they flowers and by the third day they are dead … done and dusted too soon. But this year, they lasted a little longer and I’m not sure why!

Anyway folks, I present to you: the Life Cycle of my Pink Cactus flowers. I have captured the same three flowers for this story but I have given you a photo of the full showing at the end.

And as for the quote above, it is indeed true that nothing lasts forever …

That is why we should enjoy flowers while they bloom, friends and family while they are still with us and life while we still have breath in our bodies …

Day 1. Here are three in bud with a promise of flowering on Day 2.

Day 1. Here are three in bud with a promise of flowering on Day 2.

Day 2. They have come out in flower.

Day 2. They have come out in flower.

Day 3. They have not yet totally finished (unusual for this to happen)

Day 3. They have not yet totally finished – unusual for this to happen!

Day 4. Done and dusted now poor things. Only just a memory.

Day 4. Done and dusted now poor things. Only just a memory … dreaming of better days!

P1030259

The full show … breathtaking and beautiful. Don’t they look grand?

