Daily Prompt: Fearful Symmetry

Pick a letter, any letter. Now, write a story, poem, or post in which every line starts with that letter. Photographers, artists, poets: show us SYMMETRY.

Hello dear friends

I read the words: FEARFUL SYMMETRY and then as one who has to know the meaning of everything, I asked “and what exactly does that mean?” So I put my mind to finding out … but more on this later.

Indeed, for those of you who like a lot more to a blog post than just a poem, I have included the information that I found. It tells you a lot more about ‘Fearful Symmetry”. Where did I get it you might ask? Where else but wikipedia.org/wiki/Fearful_Symmetry! .  I found out:

Fearful Symmetry is a phrase from William Blake’s poem “The Tyger” (Tyger, tyger, burning bright / In the forests of the night, / What immortal hand or eye / Could frame thy fearful symmetry?)

But really, this is the best explanation of “Fearful Symmetry” I could find:

“Blake’s Tyger has fearful symmetry because a tiger is both fear-inspiring and symmetrical. Its stripes create a sense or order, but its power and wildness suggest unpredictable violence. God has created a paradox in the tiger.”

It’s a paradox folks … that’s what it is! Now for my funny little poem where every line begins with ‘F’. Enjoy!

Fear and Symmetry?

Faithfully I have followed

‘Fearful Symmetry’ on the Daily Prompt

Feeling overwhelmed at first but …

Finding ‘symmetry’ in the dictionary

Fills me with knowledge

Fully satisfies my need ‘to know’

Fearful’ Symmetry adds another dimension

Flings the word SYMMETRY into another sphere

‘Fearful’ denotes being afraid

From the word ‘Symmetry’ I find “balance and harmony”

Finally … what am I to do?

Fearful or not fearful?

Full of fun … at last I realise

‘Fearful Symmetry’ is just a lark

Folly

Funny

Full of nonsense

A paradox!

Fastidious now, I make my choices

Finish my funny little poem

Fling it into cyberspace

Feeling proud and happy

Finally … it’s done!

dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/10/01/daily-prompt-symmetry/

MORE ABOUT FEARFUL SYMMETRY

And finally, here is some of the information from Wikipedia which will surprise you: wikipedia.org/wiki

One of the books mentioned below by A. Lee

One of the books mentioned below ( A. Zee)

Fearful Symmetry is a phrase from William Blake‘s poem “The Tyger” (Tyger, tyger, burning bright / In the forests of the night, / What immortal hand or eye / Could frame thy fearful symmetry?). It has been used as the name of a number of other works:

In film and television:

In music:

In print:

In climbing:

You see dear friends, Fearful Symmetry is everywhere and I never knew it … until now!

