Daily Prompt: Standstill

For a moment today, time stands still — but you can tweak one thing while it’s stopped. What do you do?

Show us: STILLNESS

Hello dear friends

This topic is quite providential today as it relates to my day. I have come home from meeting with a group of lady friends for lunch. We meet every six weeks or so. I have known these women for many years, one as many as thirty-three years, the others for at least twenty-five years. I often think when we are together that I would like time to stand still.

I would like to stop the clock and stay in the company of these amazing women – who are lifelong friends – and enjoy the feeling of comfort and security that they give me.

The sunset over the creek

Stillness …

But if I was not to make time standstill with these friends, the next best thing would be times of waiting. You know, when you are waiting for someone to arrive and there is a feeling of being STILL and enjoying the moment when you would normally be ‘DOING’. Instead you make it a time of ‘STILLNESS.’

In fact, this very thing happened to me last week! While I was waiting for friends to arrive I wrote in my Poppy Journal. Those who know me know I write in this beautiful journal with poppies on the front, in moments of leisure and stillness. I think it fitting to share with you the entry I wrote that day:

Wed 18th September 2013

Waiting! Time to sit and write whilst waiting for our luncheon guests. I love it when one is so efficient, everything is prepared and ready to go, but the guests have not arrived as yet.

Music is playing. In fact, beautiful orchestral music from Andre Rieu is playing; it soothes the soul and help us to relax. I recognise the tune. It is one I played on the piano as a child. ‘The Last Night at the Ball’ comes to mind, but I’m not really sure. However, I AM sure it was played at end of year school balls as us girls waltzed around the hall with our lovely long ball dresses swirling around us and our hair curled for the occasion.

How exciting these school balls were! It was the fifties after all. Life was different then: children were so innocent too. No Barbie Dolls then. No sexualisation of children either. It was a time that we will never know again.

The thing is, we can never go back to what was before; we can only go forward.  Sometimes, I wish that time could stand still, but that is impossible. I believe that we have to take everything we learned from our past and take its lessons into the future with us.

I remember when I retired from the workforce four years ago, how lost I felt. All my structures and routines that I knew so well, had been dismantled. What was I to do NOW? Who was I without my job? Would life ever be the same again? So many questions were ‘out there’ hanging in mid-air, unanswered. How was I to answer them?

I was impatient, anxious to get on with my life in retirement. The only problem was I could not while the questions hung like cobwebs tormenting me with their stickiness! TIME was the only answer to the questions and I had plenty of that. So, I began to LIVE THE QUESTIONS and not wait for them to be answered.

In the living of the questions, the answers came … one by one … over time. Now, four years later, I wonder how I ever despaired about my life. As I sit here waiting for our friends to come for lunch, I am reminded I now have the time to do things such as this.

I am reminded that my life is so much richer now than it was before I retired. You see, my past work life has come with me into my retirement. It is not forgotten. It has made me who I am today; the friends I made then I am in touch with on Facebook  or in person. The skills I learned then have not been wasted.

I am so glad that time did NOT stop still and that I continue to grow and evolve as a human being. Dear friends, all my questions have been answered … but I do not regret asking them, for with the answers came peace … and acceptance … and understanding of who I really am.

dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/24/daily-prompt-stillness/

