From the WordPress Daily Post:

Write a post about anything you’d like, but be sure to include this sentence somewhere in the final paragraph:

“He tried to hit me with a forklift!”

Photographers, artists, poets: show us a NON SEQUITUR.

Hello dear friends

You know, I think I watch too many murder mysteries because when this subject presented itself I immediately thought of today’s murder mystery that Geoff and I watched after lunch. The woman in question, just released from jail, was almost run over by a car. Someone was trying to murder her, but forkliftsDetective Superintendent Dalzeal grabbed the woman and threw her out of the way of the car.

Saved once again! She was saved, in various situations, about three times. But, after saving her, and thinking she was innocent, it turns out “she done it” after all! Honestly, it was disappointing to find that out.

By the way, I had no idea what non sequitur meant but here it is from the dictionary: n. a conclusion that does not logically follow from the premises.

So now that that’s out of the way, I have had a load of fun writing this one. Here is my effort at writing a little fantasy about love that ends in … MURDER? Maybe? Read it and find out! It’s very non sequitur.

Love and Forklift Mayhem

I was crazy to think it would last

Meeting secretly … always on edge

Would we be caught?

Flights of fancy for both of us

Escaping responsibility: partners, children, mortgages …

Every tryst engineered and thought out carefully

Surely it would not last?

Were we in love?

Or was it novelty born of too much routine?

We are in so deep

But I am pressuring him to leave his wife

To leave our pasts behind us

And start anew.

Meeting soon in the warehouse

So excited

Bags packed ready to go

Ah … what is that I hear?

An engine that sounds familiar

Wait a minute …

It’s my love coming for me

But not as I expected!

Oh how lovely, he is driving towards me

Love’s not lost after all

But then … I think he’s coming AT me

Not FOR me!

Better jump quickly to escape

What? … goodness … no! 

“He tried to hit me with a forklift!”

What is this about?

How can this be? 

Oh no, here he comes again!

I lay bruised, battered and bleeding on the ground

Love lost

Love fading

Love gone forever …

Prologue

“MURDER” SHE WROTE

In her blood on the ground

For Detective Dalzeal to find

With her bags packed she goes to meet her Maker

 Knowing that the murderer WILL be found 

And with her last breath she whispers in disbelief:

“He actually hit me with a forklift …”

dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/23/daily-prompt-nonsequitur/

