Me at Stokers Siding bus stop.

Me at Stokers Siding bus stop.

Hello all

What a lovely lazy Sunday it has been here at Cabarita Caravan Park! After church we came back to intolerable heat so we lay on our lollabouts in the shade trying to catch a breeze here and there. As we rested, we had a recap of the lovely day we’d had yesterday.

It is hard to know what the highlight of the day was as there were so many! With me, an adventure is not just about visiting new places but it is about interacting with people and we did a lot of that yesterday. After the Craft Markets we had visited the amazing Stokers Siding Pottery and left shaking our head with disbelief at the odd ‘n sods that were on sale there.

This is not just a Pottery place folks, so it was with some surprise we looked through all their second-hand items including fifties frocks in perfect condition. We bought nothing but had a great time chatting with the patchwork ladies who run the place. And they let me take some photos too which I will share with it.

Next, we wound our way around the roads and ended up at the Tweed Art Gallery which boasts wonderful views of the Tweed Valley. We have been to this place before and so we stopped to take some photos. (The panorama photo on my blog yesterday was taken by my husband Geoff). But what we had not factored on was being mesmerised by the artworks in this Gallery!

An hour later, we had seen a collection of art by the famous Australian painter Margaret Olly (who grew up in this area) and the history of the Australian Rolling Stone magazine using their covers for the last 50 years. Add to this, a collect of portraits of famous women by various artists including six of well-known aboriginal women called “Black Chicks Talking” in conjunction with a documentary of the same name. Great collections!

We then spent 30 minutes chatting to the two women volunteers who man the front counter as they told us about their dream one day a week job being involved with the Art Gallery. I felt so envious that I wanted to volunteer immediately. Only trouble was: I don’t live there!!

This wonderful adventurous day just would not end folks but we ended it at a riverside take-away shop with the best chicken and salad sandwiches one could hope to find in a slightly grotty and old take-away shop that looked like it had seen better days. However, the view of the beautiful Tweed River… was AMAZING!

However, the day was not over yet for we had to navigate our way home on a different route and Geoff, who is notorious for turning ‘right’ when I say ‘left’ decided to take an ‘interesting’ turn when I told him a different way. I knew what was ahead! I’ve been there and done this before remember? (and don’t get me started on when we were in Spain and he was not used to driving on the right-hand side of the road …)

Was I correct in my assumption of Geoff’s guilt before being proved innocent?? Yes I was! After half an hour driving through mountain country so steep I thought we might go over the edge, Geoff came to a sign which said “No Through Road” (my very prediction) and had no choice but to turn back. Oh dear … how could he admit I was right … AGAIN?! But he did. He now has my utmost admiration. Much laughter followed.

Eventually after more driving, came the perfect ending to a perfect day as we finally saw the Caravan Park come into view.It was good to be home at last as, with an exasperated sigh, we knew a cup of tea was only a few minutes away.

Interesting stuff in the pottery place.

Interesting stuff in the pottery place.

Plants iin a bed pan in the Stokers Siding Pottery

Plants iin a bed pan in the Stokers Siding Pottery

A view through a window of the Art Gallery

A view through a window of the Art Gallery

A photo taken from the Tweed Art Gallery

A photo taken from the Tweed Art Gallery

Lovely fifties dresses

Lovely fifties dresses

