Another place to buy craft, pottery and heritage items

Another place to buy craft, pottery and heritage items

P1010539

Hello all

Today Geoff and I decided to escape the caravan park where people are moving out and scurrying to and fro and go for a drive further out in the country … I’m talking about visiting a place frequented by real country bumpkins and odd balls and anyone else in between.

Remember we know this whole area well and have much experience here, so as soon as I saw an advertisement in the local paper for a hand-made Craft Market in a tiny town called “Stokers Siding” I knew we had to go. Here is what their website says about the town for those who know the locaity:

“Stokers Siding and the surrounding district of Dunbible, Fernvale and Smiths Creek is a quiet, picturesque area set amongst rolling green pastures and sub tropical rainforest within sight of the ever present Mt Warning/ Wollumbin.

The area is surrounded by world heritage National Parks such as Springbrook, Lamington, Border Ranges and Nightcap National Park and is within easy reach of some of Australia’s best beaches stretching from Coolangatta in the north to Byron in the south.”

Inside the hall where the markets were held.

Inside the hall where the markets were held.

In other words, it is a beautiful place and as we took twists and turns around the country roads to reach our destination, we reminded ourselves why we love this area so much. And we were not disappointed either, when we visited and saw the creative work on sale, talked to some of the ‘odd-balls’ who live there, ate home-made rasberry and nut slice with cream while chatting to a man with a dog called ‘Cleopatra.’

Oh, it was all happening in that little town of Stoker Siding! I don’t think they have ever had so many visitors in their town at any one time lately. What’s more, the stall holders love to talk to you, telling you all about their creations and loving it when you bought something.

So today I am going to leave you with a few photos I took at Stokers Siding. I must mention one character who stands out from the rest. His name was Orbs Stevens, a man of 76 who complained of aching bones. When I asked him why this was so he replied casually, “I suppose it comes from riding bulls all over Australia for years … broke plenty of ribs I did.” Well… that would do it for sure!

Tomorrow I will give you a little more of our adventures today, for I can assure you they were many more after the markets! Until then …

Orbs Stevens

Orbs Stevens

PS I am having trouble with my WordPress website so I have published as is.

