181091_461629333910290_227937256_n

• Melinda Gates
“A woman with a voice is by definition a strong woman. But the search to find that voice can be remarkably difficult.”

Hello all

Yes it is International Women’s Day today! What do us women wish each other? “Happy Women’s Day” perhaps? Apparently International Women’s Day has been around for a very long time and it was set aside to give honor, respect, appreciation and love towards women.

When I saw this collection of women on Facebook – all well-known women – I wondered about so many women everywhere who would not be recognised with a photo on a Facebook wall, but who have achieved remarkable things in their own ‘little’ lives.

578414_516528755057293_1584268085_nWhat about the women who have brought up a large families during hard times? Like my own mother who put her own dreams on hold to work and support her family when her father was ill for many years.

Later she married and had six children with a husband working away a lot of the time. She cooked beautiful meals, make all our clothes and even managed to nurse her mother – our grandmother – for twenty years. I look back and realise now that my mother was indeed an amazing woman.

And what about my mother-in-law? She did not appear to do anything remarkable. She was a quiet, shy country women who took years to master the use of the telephone, but she loved and dedicated herself to her husband and four children. She had gone through many hardships in her life, right from the time she lost both her parents while she was still a young teenager.

I have utmost respect for her. My husband tells me she would always be up early to see him off to work as he had to set off for a little town nearby and left before anyone else. Her dedication to her family have not earned her any photos on Facebook, but to me she was a wonderful woman who never complained but simply got on with life.

So today, I want to salute these two wonderful women in my life. The more the years go by, the more I have come to admire their dedication and faithfulness to their families. They were GOOD WOMEN. And yes, I have KNOWN them … I wish to BE LIKE THEM … and my own daughter was RAISED to be one of them.

Marjorie Strachan and Angelina Ross: I SALUTE YOU!

