Throw seeds of love and watch them come up ...

Throw seeds of love by doing something good then watch them come up …

Hello all

Please … someone should give me a medal at the moment. Why you might ask? Because I have been getting up at 6.30am three days every week and this is my third week of such ridiculous behaviour. It is all too much folks and I think that someone should stop me because my supposed ‘goodness’ is getting way out of hand!

roosterAnd I am ironing three shirts a week as well. Even more reason for medals to be awarded. I have to confess that I am doing this to support my husband who cannot resist taking up some casual payroll work when he gets the chance. We are both retired but every now and again Geoff gets some work and off he goes … and what do I normally do?

I sleep in and am nowhere to be seen when he leaves to catch the bus to the city. Also, I don’t want to iron business shirts and I resist for as long as I can. Now, I know that men are perfectly capable of getting breakfast themselves and leaving the house (and yes, with shirts they have ironed themselves) but this is not just a little job one day here and there. This is a three day a week stressful position which may be ongoing until July.

Sooo … I made a decision to support him and make his life a little bit easier by getting him breakfast and ironing his shirts. Did it cost me to do this? Sure did! But just remember, it is Lent after all, and one feels the pressure to do something that costs somewhat … well, costs ‘a little’ …  surely?

wife and breakfast

No worry about this happening to Geoff!

But folks, I have to report that medals aside, I am enjoying it! I love getting up at that early hour of the morning. I am getting so much more done in my day and I feel as if, in giving to my husband, it is coming back to me a hundredfold.

Okay you can cancel those medals right about NOW …

You see, it is all very well to talk incessantly about LOVE LOVE LOVE but if we are not doing little things to show our love for those close to us we may as well forget putting Love pictures on Facebook and telling everyone to love one another; a hard lesson to learn dear friends.

And now it’s time to share a saying I found which spoke to me today:

How can you come to know yourself? Never by thinking always by doing. Try to do your duty and you’ll know right away what you amount to.”  (Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, a German dramatist, novelist, poet, & scientist; leader of Romantic movement; “Faust” 1808-1832, novel “Wilhelm Meister” 1796-1829)

Sometimes our DUTY feels dull and boring but it is the motivation of the heart that lies behind it that lifts DUTY up from the dirt where it has been shoved and given such a bad name. I really am enjoying ‘doing my duty’ folks.

Surely it shouldn’t be quite so enjoyable … even without the medals?? 

