Blaming others-resized-600

Hello all

I heard a news report today that Oscar Pistorius, known as The Blade Runner, told the court he thought his girlfriend was an intruder when he fired four times through the locked bathroom door. He thought she was asleep in the bed … but he didn’t check to see first.

Strange really. As I listened, a lot of thoughts went through my head such as “if he was strapping on his legs before he went and shot at the door, wouldn’t his legs have been in the bedroom that his girlfriend was in?” Wouldn’t you take off your legs before getting into bed so your legs would be near your bed? And then you would SEE your girlfriend?

your faultI cannot even believe I am having a conversation about where someones ‘legs’ would be at any given time! However, it certainly is a bizarre tale and one I have no answers for but the point I want to make is this: the Blade Runner was blaming ‘OTHERS’ for why he shot his girlfriend.

He took no responsibility. If indeed he did shoot her on purpose, he is not saying so. It is far easier to blame an intruder … imaginary or otherwise. Hopefully the truth will eventually come out.

All this made me think about BLAMING OTHERS. How often are we tempted to blame other people or things for why we acted a certain way.

I remember hearing a report on Radio National some months ago, where the Japanese blame their blood types for why they behave a certain way.

Perhaps we should give these out?

Perhaps we should give these out?

Yes folks, you did hear right. I did say that the Japanese blame their blood types for their behaviour. In fact, in July 2011 the Minister for Reconstruction, Mr. Ryu Matsumoto resigned after being criticised for making insensitive remarks about tsunami victims. He blamed his blood type. I kid you not. He began innocently enough by saying:

“I would like to offer my apologies for offending the people in the disaster-hit areas. I thought I was emotionally close to the disaster victims, but I lacked sufficient words and my comments were too harsh.

Then Mr. Matsumoto made this amazing statement:

My blood’s type B, which means I can be irritable and impetuous, and my intentions don’t always come across. “My wife called me earlier to point that out. I think I need to reflect about that.” 

Did this make it all okay? I think not! Understanding temperament and personality by blood type is a big thing in Japan folks. Now I am not going to give you a blog on blood types, although I could very easily do so with all the information I have on the subject! Just let me leave you with this snippet:

If you are an A, B, O or AB blood type, it is a widespread belief in Japan that character is linked to blood type. 

I will leave you to do your own research just don’t ever use blood types as an excuse when you behave badly folks. Think of Mr. Matsumoto and resist. www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-20170787

lettuceI am not an expert on the ‘blame game’ either but I do know from reading about BLAME that it is a way of devaluing others. Yep, it’s all about POWER and making yourself feel better.

“The end result is that the blamer feels superior. Others are seen as less worthwhile making the blamer “perfect”. Off-loading blame means putting the other person down by emphasizing his or her flaws.”

So dear friends, what lesson can we learn from the Blade Runner and Mr. Matsumoto? Perhaps it is like the saying says:

When we Blame Others we Give up our Power to Change”

All we need do is ‘fess up and take responsibility for the fact that we messed up. I should know this because I’ve had to do so many times myself throughout my life! It sure beats blaming others and having a power trip. Oh, and it sure does feel good at the same time too, as people are often surprised when you say “Look, that was my fault … and I am so sorry for what I did …”

As for the Blade Runner, if he ‘fesses up, you know what will be happening to him …

