Five more days of my Blog Challenge

Five more days of my Blog Challenge

Day 362 of 366 Blog Challenge 2012

Hello all

Do you ever think about about the fact that you have an ‘inner child’ that lives within you? You think he/she is grown up don’t you? Well, surprise surprise! Apparently we take this inner child with us throughout our lives into adulthood.

I received two emails today that got me thinking on this subject and as I went about my day I began to wonder what we can do to reclaim our inner child if it has somehow got lost.

Nurturing your inner child

Nurturing your inner child

I am very aware of this snippet of psychological information folks! Every day I am conscious about rediscovering the child within me that became lost through some difficult years in my  life. I have pretty much found her now but today’s emails helped me once again, to reconnect with the need to feed my precious little inner child who just loves being affirmed!

My research shows it is important to rediscover this inner child which causes us to be stuck if there are wounds from our past … and let’s face it, most of us have not escaped such wounding.

For those who may want to know more visit this website or find the book “HOMECOMING: Reclaiming and Championing Your Inner Child” by John Bradshaw. www.johnbradshaw.com/homecomingprint

I have read Bradshaw’s book on “Shame” and found it very helpful in my liberation from the shame that I felt for a large part of my life … but which no longer haunts my soul. Freed at last! Shame is a bit like guilt; the difference is that we feel guilty for what we DO. We feel shame for what we ARE eg somehow flawed as a human being. It’s like this:

“We first see the world though the eyes of a little child, and that “inner child” remains with us throughout our lives, no matter how outwardly “grown-up” and powerful we become. If our vulnerable child was hurt, abandoned, shamed, or neglected, that child’s pain, grief, and anger live on within us. “I believe that this neglected, wounded inner child of the past is the major source of human misery,” says Bradshaw.”

So today folks, I am going to help you nurture your inner child by sharing these two stories which reminded ME to keep my inner child alive. Time for some fun and laughter.

THE LEGO STORY:

The shack is real but the flowers and trees are LEGO

The shack is real but the flowers and trees are LEGO

When I was at my daughter’s home on Christmas Day the children had been constructing Lego which Santa had so kindly left for them! Violet was constructing police vehicles and on the cabinet nearby was a completed Lego Jumbo Jet that Alice had finished constructing that morning.

My children loved Lego and now their children are also enjoying the delights of this construction brick. So, imagine my surprise this morning when I came across a story about the building of GIANT Lego trees in outback Australia at a town in the middle of nowhere called Broken Hill.

“A LIFE-SIZED LEGO Forest has been constructed in Broken Hill to commemorate 50 years of the construction toy in Australia. Fifteen LEGO trees and 15 flower sets have been set up in Living Desert State Park, a 2400ha reserve nestled within the Barrier Ranges. The trees stand at a towering 4m high, and all 30 pieces are more than 66 times larger than their original counterparts.”

The Lego trees in the sunset

The Lego trees against the sunset

If any of you know about Lego the small trees and flowers often come with building sets but these giant ones were especially made with the approval of Australia and New Zealand Lego. The forest is part of LEGO Australia’s nine month Festival of Play; a celebration of the iconic brick since its arrival in the country 50 years ago.

Wouldn’t my grandchildren love to see these giant Lego in all their glory in the outback? There are no plans to uproot the Lego and take them elsewhere apparently. I simply love the idea of giant Lego standing tall in the outback of Australia.

THE DELIGHTS OF CHILDREN:

Secondly, my neighbour sent me an email about children and as I read it, I became aware that the Season of Christmas is really geared up for children isn’t it? And I remembered the fun I had with my children when they were little. Now that they have children of their own they are finding this fun for themselves and I am enjoying the by-product of it.

I am going to leave you with a snippet of the verse that was sent to me. It is guaranteed to make you smile and hopefully even make you laugh out loud. Enjoy and don’t forget to nurture your inner child today. Do it now!

CHILDREN

I was off to a good start.
God had entrusted me
with four children and
I didn’t want to disappoint Him.

I tried to be patient the day
the children smashed
two dozen eggs on
the kitchen floor searching
for baby chicks.

I tried to be understanding…

when they started a hotel for
homeless frogs in the spare bedroom,

although it took me nearly two hours
to catch all twenty-three frogs.

When my daughter poured
ketchup all over herself and
rolled up in a blanket to see
how it felt to be a hot dog,
I tried to see the humor
rather than the mess..

Children in a Nativity scene

Children in a Nativity scene

My proudest moment came
during the children’s
Christmas pageant.

My daughter was playing Mary,
two of my sons were shepherds
and my youngest son was a wise man.
This was their moment to shine.

My five-year-old shepherd
had practiced his line,
“We found the babe wrapped
in swaddling clothes.”

But he was nervous and said,
“The baby was wrapped
in wrinkled clothes.”

My four-year-old “Mary” said,
“That’s not ‘wrinkled clothes,’ silly.

That’s dirty, rotten clothes.”

A wrestling match broke out
between Mary and the shepherd
and was stopped by an angel,
who bent her halo and lost
her left-wing.

I slouched a little lower
in my seat when Mary
dropped the doll representing
Baby Jesus, and it bounced
down the aisle crying,
“Mama-mama.”

Mary grabbed the doll,
wrapped it back up
and held it tightly as
the wise men arrived.

My other son stepped forward
wearing a bathrobe
and a paper crown,
knelt at the manger
and announced,
“We are the three wise men,
and we are bringing gifts
of gold,
common sense
and fur.”

The congregation
dissolved into laughter,
and the pageant
got a standing ovation.

“I’ve never enjoyed a Christmas
program as much as this one,”
laughed the pastor,
wiping tears from his eyes

“For the rest of my life,
I’ll never hear the
Christmas story without
thinking of
gold,
common sense
and fur.”

“My children are my pride
and my joy and my greatest
blessing,” I said as I dug
through my purse for an aspirin.

 

