"Green is the prime color of the world, and that from which its loveliness arises." -- Pedro Calderon de la Barca

“Green is the prime color of the world, and that from which its loveliness arises.” — Pedro Calderon de la Barca

Day 349 of 366 Blog Challenge 2012

Hello all

I have been out and about with my husband this morning shopping for Christmas presents for our grandchildren, something that gives us enormous pleasure. So today I thought about the count down to Christmas and how I am finding it hard not to write or think about Christmas. For this reason today, I have decided to write about the colour green.

The red and green of Chrismas

The red and green of Chrismas

Green and red have to be the colours of Christmas folks. As I have already written about the colour RED, this time I felt the colour GREEN whispered to me that she was feeling just a tad envious that no mention had been made of her glorious colour in any of my blogs. Yes, there is no doubt that she was “green with envy.”  (Just couldn’t resist saying it!)

“Time is running out!” she cried and I felt for her as she was being neglected so I replied: “we will have to rectify this oversight before my blogging finishes for the year.” Therefore it is time.

Ta da … I give you all: THE COLOUR GREEN …

I associate the colour green with Ireland first and foremost. There is the shamrock. There is St. Patrick’s Day in March when even good old Aussies love to wear green to commemorate St Paddy. Besides this, I learned a lot about green from my trusty Google search, so let’s start first with the effect it has on us psychologically:

“The color green is the color of balance and harmony. From a color psychology perspective, it is the great balancer of the heart and the emotions, creating equilibrium between the head and the heart.

From a meaning of colors perspective, green is also the color of growth, the color of spring, of renewal and rebirth. It renews and restores depleted energy. It is the sanctuary away from the stresses of modern living, restoring us back to a sense of well-being.”

This may be the reason why we love being in green fields and forests where we regain our composure and feel serene; it rejuvenates us. Green is also the color of prosperity and abundance, of finance and material wealth and the business world. Prosperity gives a feeling of safety to green.  (empower-yourself-with-color-psychology)

Perhaps this is why there is so much of this relaxing color on the earth. It is because we need it to feel secure.

But folks, don’t get too carried away here with all this positivity  for there is also a negative side to the colour green. I’m not sure why, but wearing green to a wedding is “traditionally associated with bad luck”.  Pippa Middleton heard all about this when she wore green last September to a friend’s wedding and received much criticism in the press!

a basket full of greenI mean, who makes up these rules? Now at this point I have to confess to having green bridesmaids at my own wedding because I was in love with the colour at the time.

My sister too, had the most beautiful emerald-green for us bridesmaids and we looked amazing. So there! Pippa, I know how you felt when they criticised you because I had the very same thing pointed out to me too!

Now let’s leave that controversy behind and look at some sayings about green. You will all recognise how often we include green in our speech:

Popular phrases that include green

  • Get the green light: get approval to move ahead or proceed with a project or task
  • Going green: when someone or something makes changes to help protect the environment, or reduces waste or pollution
  • Green thumb (US) or Green fingers (UK): an unusual ability to make plants grow
  • Green room: a room (in a theater or studio) where performers can relax before or after appearances
  • Greenback: a legal-tender note issued by the United States government
  • Greener pastures: something newer or better (or perceived to be better), such as a new job.
  • Green with envy: jealous or envious
  • Greenhorn: novice, trainee, beginner
  • Green around the gills: marked by a pale, sickly, or nauseated appearance
  • Turn green: to look pale and ill as if you are going to vomit  (www.sensationalcolor.com)
This children's book would be good.

This children’s book would be good.

And long before a certain person wrote “Fifty Shades of Grey” Johnny Cash was singing “Forty Shades of Green” which Johnny wrote in 1959 about Ireland. Listen to it here: Johnny Cash on www.youtube.com  And of course let’s not forget the sexy Welshman Tom Jones singing that lovely ballad The Green Green Grass of Home.

I cannot finish this post without the mention of those words that every child just hates to hear: “Children eat your greens as they are good for you!” Of course, we all know this and now that I am an adult I don’t mind my greens especially asparagus and what about the beautiful green limes which add piquancy to Thai dishes? Love them too.

As I conclude this little  exposé on the colour GREEN, I would like to leave you with this quote from Oscar Wilde which is just plain delightful. Remember it next time you tell someone you LOVE green. I wonder how those from Libya feel when they read this quote as their solid green flag currently is the only national flag of a single color! Enjoy …

He had that curious love of green, which in individuals is always the sign of a subtle artistic temperament, and in nations is said to denote a laxity, if not a decadence of morals.” — Oscar Wilde

green apples

Green apples make the best pies …

The shamrock of Ireland

The shamrock of Ireland

So many variations of green

So many variations of green

The green map of Ireland

The green map of Ireland

 

The greens of Ireland quilt

The greens of Ireland quilt

 

