“White is not a mere absence of color; it is a shining and affirmative thing, as fierce as red, as definite as black. God paints in many colors; but He never paints so gorgeously, I had almost said so gaudily, as when He paints in white. ”

~G.K. Chesterton, “Orthodoxy”

Day 326 of 366 Blog Challenge 2012

Hello all for another day

This morning I found a picture and quote on my Facebook news feed (thanks to: The-Road-To-ME Facebook) and I simply loved it. It spoke to me and said:  “You will have to write about the colour WHITE today”. And I replied ever so nicely: “Of course, whatever you say sweet inspiration.”

So folks, here I am obeying the command that came from within and nudged me to obey. I am not always so obedient but something told me that writing about WHITE could prove to be interesting to me as well as to my readers. Oh, and have I had some fun researching the topic: “The Colour White!” Love, love love it.

In fact, I was in danger of not actually WRITING the blog so busy was I ENJOYING the researching and reading. It’s not much different from when I was a child, always going off reading when I should have been cleaning the bath (is there any comparison?) or reading the cereal box whilst eating the cereal! But I am digressing …

One of the white pictures I found; pure magic.

To begin, let us look at the question of whether white really is a colour? A website on crystals informed me that white is NOT a colour!  Well, strictly speaking that is but I’m not sure I believe it:

Strictly speaking, white is not a color, but the manifestation of the presence of all color – the complete energy of light. It stands for wholeness and completion. In many cultures it represents openness and truth. White has a cold quality. It can provide clarity as its energy is complete.

And then www.artistdaily.com/is-white-really-a-color disagreed (THEY should know surely?)

There are differing opinions among color theory purists whether white should be considered a color at all, since it represents the absence of hue or chroma, and cannot be made from the three primaries, as black theoretically can be. It’s not usually represented on the color wheel, but white is usually an essential ingredient of any palette.

At this point, we could get into an argument about whether WHITE is or isn’t a colour but I want to move on to discussing how the colour WHITE makes you feel. You see when I see photos of snow (as seen above) I become envious of people who live in the Northern Hemisphere and experience snowfall.

In most of Australia we very rarely have snow. Where I live in Queensland, snow only occurs in one small district in the highlands of west Queensland … and not very often either. So for us who live  ‘Down Under” when we travel to the North Hemisphere and experience snow, we want to write home about it, talk about it and tell anyone who will listen “Oh, it snowed where we were!!!” 

We become crazy folks, we really do. I have written before on how snow began to fall as we were coming from Heathrow Airport early in the morning after arriving from Australia. The driver of the shuttle bus said to us Aussies “Oh, look snow is falling to greet you all!” You couldn’t wipe the smile off of our faces. Just as soon as we could, despite jet lag, nothing could stop us from being out and about in the snow.

Perhaps this is why the picture above touched me so much? It brought back good memories of London and also of the snow fields of southern Australia which we visited some years ago.

However, I think that we would all agree that white denotes purity …  but these few facts from a website all about white are interesting. Psychology: all-about-the-color-white:

White projects purity, cleanliness, and neutrality. Doctors don white coats, brides traditionally wear white gowns, and a white picket fence surrounds a safe and happy home.”

Look at this gorgeous white tailed deer with her fawn.

Are you confused yet? Well, I am going to cut to the chase and give you some pictures of things that are white. When you see them you are sure to sigh and go: “Aaah” and this will prove my point that white IS a colour because if the colour pink makes me feel all warm and fuzzy (as it does) why then does white make me feel much the same way also?

You see, the colour white affects us physically according to psychologists (see the site above). It aids mental clarity, encourages us to clear clutter or obstacles. It also evokes purification of thoughts or actions and enables fresh beginnings.

And so today I have spent far too much time researching “The Colour White” but I am not sorry folks. No time is ever wasted in which you learn new things and in particular, you learn something new about yourself. And what would that be you may ask? I have learned that The Colour White makes me feel almost as good as the colour pink and that is something I never realised until today.

I NEVER KNEW I COULD LIKE WHITE SO MUCH!

So, enjoy the pictures of famous WHITE THINGS I have posted below and I will leave the last word for Leonardo Da Vinci who should know a thing or two about white:

“The first of all single colors is white … We shall set down white for the representative of light, without which no color can be seen; yellow for the earth; green for water; blue for air; red for fire; and black for total darkness.” Leonardo Da Vinci

The Lhotse Mountain near Mt. Everest

The White Cliffs of Dover in England

 

The pure white marble of the Taj Mahal in India

 

