Day 320 of 366 Blog Challenge 2012

Hello all

I stood and waited at the counter of the chemist as the assistant rang up my bill and being a person who hates wasting time, I decided to try the perfume in the lovely bottle sitting nearby on the counter.

Such a gorgeous bottle.

“Hmmm …” I said to the girl, “this is nice, what fragrance is it?” Much to my surprise she replied that it was Justin Bieber’s latest perfume ‘SOMEDAY’. Well, I did feel a little silly as this is most likely marketed to young little things not ‘old dears’ like me!

I was still smiling to myself about it when I got home and I must admit that thoughts went through my head such as “oh yeah, that would be right, making even more money with this perfume!” And I would have gone on thinking this way (see I told you to watch your thinking didn’t I? For out of the heart the mouth does speak) but doing a search for the name online make me want to eat my words folks. It was mortifying!

I found Justin’s website and he was waxing lyrical with the usual spiel saying:

“Let’s be real, the way a girl smells is very important to a guy! I have such a deep connection with my fans, so creating a fragrance that I personally love is another way I can bring them closer to my world.
I was as cynical as ever … that is, until I read the next part which said that the perfume is being marketed through charity Give Back Brands and is set to raise millions for a host of charities including Pencils of Promise, which builds schools, and the Make-A-Wish Foundation. (read more: www.justinbieberzone.com/perfume)
I had been truly humbled! But this is not the first time that this young man has had me eating my words. There is more to him than meets the eye. So Justin Bieiber is going to raise MILLIONS for charities by putting his name to a perfume that will have the girls going crazy. I love it!
I am reminded of a scene from a memoir I am reading called “Salvation Creek” : An Unexpected Life by Susan Duncan, former editor of Woman’s Weekly and other magazines. After many tragedies Susan finds love a second time around with Bob. When Bob returns from a trip away he surprises Susan in the supermarket from behind. Susan writes:
“I know who it is immediately from the scent. Tangy as sunbaked skin after swimming in salt water. No claggy colognes for Bob. Sometimes, when he’s sitting at his desk and I’m passing by, I’ll bend and kiss the back of his neck just so I can inhale what smells to me like summer.”
Such tender and loving words which brought tears to my eyes. So you see folks, scent or fragrance – call it what you may – is not always about manufactured perfumes. No. Sometimes, it is the simplest smells that bring back memories of those we love or about seasons we always remember like spring. Smell is a powerful force.
So, has manufactured perfume always been around? Well yes, the ancient perfumers made use of oils and fats to absorb and give off odors. For example, olive oil formed the composition of the holy anointing oil used in the days of the Old Testament by the priests in the tabernacle.
“The oil base was then scented with liquid myrrh, fragrant cinnamon, cane and sweet cassia.”
Sound familiar? I suppose this was what the Three Kings were bringing to Jesus in Bethlehem but the women of pagan Egypt were also using similar perfume and precious oils. The Three Kings or Magi were foreign after all and not Jewish.
So natural oils formed the basis of all perfume for centuries.
The people who made the ingredients were often families with generations of experience, who’d spent decades perfecting the processes of extracting the various oils and absolutes from the flowers and resins. But all that changed when modern chemists got involved in the process:
“Chemists in big labs started to combine fragrance chemicals, to create ever new, intense and of course cheaper versions of the ancient oils and resins used in perfumery. And the modern toiletry manufacturers started to use them almost exclusively.”
But don’t despair folks, no chemist can recreate the depth and magic of certain flowers or essences and you will find many laboratories now returning to making natural perfumes. I have often wondered if this is why so many people are  allergic to synthetic perfumes today? It happened to me and then I was given some perfume by a friend who brought it back from Italy where the monks grow the flowers and make the perfume at their Monastery near Naples.

When the perfume ran out, I almost wept because it was such a rare smell. Methinks I will just have to travel to Italy to buy some more of it one day! As that is unlikely to happen at this stage, I might try buying some online here in Australia at this site: www.perfumebynature.com.au.

Perfume by Nature natural perfumes

So folks, I found a some inspiration on fragrance in my Meditation Book this afternoon. Jill Briscoe, the author of  “How to Follow the Shepherd” (or love this: How to fail Successfully) was exhorting us to keep doing good and not to get weary about it. (we all need this encouragement!).

She says that ‘man’ ought to consider what base oil goes into their reputation for it has the power to absorb and give off savours (fragrances). This is common to EVERYONE and not just to Christians. So it is important to consider what we put inside of ourselves by way of our thinking, behaviour and actions for we will end up smelling according to how we behave.
You have all heard the saying of someone who has a bad reputation: “he/she is on the nose.”
Well folks,this  says it all! So it is no good wearing lovely perfume if indeed we are “on the nose” because we are not very nice people. I do  think we should all take a moment to remind ourselves of this when we are tempted to behave badly. I know for me, it is a conscious decision I have to make every day.
And a little bit of perfume won’t hurt either …
