Day 306 of 366 Blog Challenge 2012

Hello all

I woke up this morning to hear the breakfast announcer on the radio saying: “A Pinch and a Punch for the first of the Month.”  This is something I haven’t heard in many years and I wondered how many of you out there, remember this saying that was very common when I was growing up.

The idea was that this should be said on the first day of a new month, accompanied by a pinch and a punch to the victim. However, if anything physical was done at all, it would only be a token pinch and a punch and never taken too seriously. I do remember my father doing it but mostly, it was simply a saying to start a new month.

Do you know where this came from folks? Well according to my friend Google:

“Originating from old England times when people thought that witches existed. People thought that salt would make a witch weak, so the pinch part is pinching of the salt, and the punch part was to banish the witch. The witch would be weak from the salt so the punch was to banish her.”

Have you learned something new? I certainly have and I also discovered that there are variations to this but it is all so complicated, you are better off just sticking to the ‘pinch and the punch!’

Now, I also want to thank Nykia (aged 8) who drew the November picture (above) for my calendar. Nykia says: There are lots of different activities you can try which will help keep you healthy and happy.” She has drawings of skateboarding, running, skipping, tennis, football and hula-hoop activities.

All these things look a bit too active for an old dear like me so I am happy at the moment to keep on walking while I admire nature around me. Have you noticed that all the figures in the calendar are YOUNG folks? Now, if I was drawing this calendar I would put in … walking through the suburbs, walking on the beach, walking on paths in the bush …  in fact walking just about anywhere you like. Highly exciting I know.

I suppose I could handle a friendly game of tennis which in fact, my neighbours (seniors like us) have been doing three days a week early in the day. I have to say I admire them tremendously but I am happy to watch and simply play tennis in my mind. Or perhaps watching the tennis or cricket on TV might constitute ‘being active?’ It makes you feel less guilty perhaps?

I wonder if they did some research into the effectiveness of ‘watching sport’ whether it would show that people lost weight? It is amazing the type of research you find online folks. Which reminds me of some research I read earlier today about drinking alcohol. This research shows that cutting down on alcohol consumption may be as simple as changing the shape of your glass!  Yep, it is true. Here are the details:

“Dr. Angela Attwood at the University of Bristol found that, on average, people drank alcohol more quickly from a curved glass (one that is narrower at the bottom and wider at the top) than from a straight one. The study recruited 159 social alcohol drinkers who were in good mental and physical health, with an average age of 23 years.”

And what did they find? Researchers found that people took about four minutes longer to drink alcohol from the straight glass compared with the curved glass (about 60% slower). It seems they took more sips and longer time between sips with the straight glass. The idea is in reducing the prevalence of drunkenness which has become a progressively bigger problem in society today.

Now don’t say I don’t give you some interesting information! When I told Geoff about this research, his eyes lit up. I think he may even try it out just to see if allows him to drink less wine, which of course, is the aim of the exercise. Watch this space …

The white Jacaranda

At this point I must tell you more about the Jacaranda tree. I was chatting on the phone to a friend this morning who had admired my purple Jacaranda photos from yesterday’s post but was disappointed that there were no WHITE Jacaranda trees in the pictures.

I must apologise to my readers for this lapse but I  do know that there is a rare Jacaranda which is white but I did not see any photos online.

However, today I have had more success as I searched specifically using the word ‘white’ (simple really) and so I have included a photo for you all to admire. Grafton does have a couple of white Jacaranda trees which look beautiful when photographed next to the purple ones.

So now I must bring this bits ‘n bobs post to an end but I must leave you with a little bit of wisdom I picked up about drinking, here it is:

“If drinking is interfering with your work, you’re probably a heavy drinker.  If work is interfering with your drinking, you’re probably an alcoholic.”  ~Author Unknown

Which ever way it goes folks, according to this quote, you have a problem!

Until tomorrow …

