Day 279 of 366: Blog Challenge 2012

Hello all

Do you know what today is? It is 50 years since James Bond appeared on film in the movie Dr NO. Apparently it is to be known as “Global James Bond Day” and a day-long series of events for 007 fans is planned around the world. Yeah … well that’s all very nice isn’t it?

Well yes it is, but that’s not all … there’s more. I discovered it is also 50 years since the Beatles released their first record ‘Love Me Do’  even though  it only managed to reach No. 17 on the charts but who cares, it was a start and we all know the rest of the story don’t we? And yes, there will also be celebrations and events all over the world for this milestone too.

Now, which one will you choose yo celebrate? It’s easy for me as I grew up with the Beetles. In fact, I am sure I discovered them single-handedly in Australia! I was a foot-loose and fancy-free 16-year-old at this stage of my life and about to finish my Grade 10 year at High School. Next stop was to find a job.

Of course, I was the very age that ‘dug” The Beatles: 14 to 16 year olds were falling in love with these debonair young men and couldn’t get enough of them. And yes, when I was 18 year old, I was lined up in Brisbane to see them at the only venue available – a tin-pot place called “Festival Hall.” This is how it played out:

“6.00pm, Monday 29 June 1964 (48 years ago). This was The Beatles’ first night of shows at Brisbane’s Festival Hall. The two concerts at the Festival Hall were each seen by 5,500 people, and all tickets sold out well in advance. Once again they were subjected to eggs thrown at the stage, although The Beatles played on and the miscreants were swiftly ejected from the venue.”

The Beatles here in Brisbane; they were shocked about the egg attacks

Despite the eggs, what a thrill it was to see The Beatles! Never mind that our tickets were so far back that we had to borrow someone’s opera glasses to be able to pick each Beatle out. We didn’t care. We ‘sort of’ screamed (as only a well-educated girl can do) and sang along to all the tunes which we knew by heart.

And then they were gone and they never did return to Australia to perform again. So now, when I tell my kids “Oh I went to see the Beatles” they are amazed that I saw these legends in their heyday. I still become a young girl again whenever I hear their early songs folks. I simply can’t help it.

But enough of this nostalgia, what about Global James Bond Day? Do I care about that? Well yes I do, because in between loving the Beatles music one would go and see the latest 007 films even though no one could outshine the Beatles. What about now then?

What about the latest movie: SKYFAL? I actually heard the singer Adele singing the theme song “Skyfall”  for this latest 007 movie. Now, I hate to have to admit this but I had never heard of Adele until Tuesday! But now? I listened to a whole concert on YouTube and I think she is amazing. So, thanks to James Bond, I have discovered Adele … just love to keep up with things folks.

Adele is excited about this involvement and admitted:

“I was a little hesitant at first to be involved with the theme song for SKYFALL. There’s a lot of instant spotlight and pressure when it comes to a Bond song. But I fell in love with the script … and it ended up being a bit of a no-brainer to do it in the end.

It was also a lot of fun writing to a brief, something I’ve never done which made it exciting. When we recorded the strings, it was one of the proudest moments of my life. I’ll be back combing my hair when I’m 60 telling people I was a Bond girl back in the day, I’m sure!”

A poster from the very first Bond movie made

I am almost tempted to go and see Skyfall because I have not seen a Bond film since my thirties and that my friends is a long time ago! Perhaps it is time to revisit my youth?

Now another thing I found out due to this being Global James Bond Day, is that there is an island in Thailand known as James Bond Island, originally and locally known as Ko Tapu or Nail Island, it found fame through the 1974 Bond film “The Man with the Golden Gun”. 

Brad, who does the traffic report on the radio, had just come back from this island and thought it was great, however it is swamped with tourists which does make it all a bit much. You may wish to have a look at jamesbondisland.com. It does look like a beautiful area of Thailand but then I read this review which made me wonder:

“The island that you disembark onto is crowded with stalls selling seashells and trinkets but unfortunately nobody has taken the initiative to create or sell anything of interest to Bond fans. No replica golden guns, no postcards of the film, not even a DVD of the film.”

What a shame and this is not exactly what Brad reported so perhaps there is another area where you pay to see certain parts of the Island where the movie was filmed?

So folks, as I conclude my blog today, I will leave you with all this useful/useless information. If you are close to my age, you may become nostalgic as I have done and if you are only a ‘young thing,’ you may just have learned a thing or two about things that happened a long time ago …

James Bond Island in this area of Thailand

 

