Day 267 of 366: Blog Challenge 2012

Hello all

It’s not every Sunday morning we go out to eat breakfast at a cafe but when we do it is always a treat and today was no different. You see, today, we were welcoming our son-in law Steve, back to Brisbane for two weeks with his family. 

Of course, Steve works in East Timor and we are always delighted to see him turn up. We haven’t seen him since our lovely time together in Fiji. But it is his two girls who miss their “Daddy” and when he comes home (or they visit Timor) they simply love it.

No longer wine on the shelves, now filled with nice books

Today, we were altogether as a family for the first time since January this year and what a thrill it was to have both my children, with their spouses and our three grandchildren together in the one place.

It reminded me today of the importance of family. One of my biggest thrills was seeing my daughter-in law Belinda, large with child at 31 weeks, after losing twins last year at 24 weeks. You could not get the smile off my face folks.

Yes it was indeed a lovely time today. We were at a Deli Cafe called “Perks” where we had huge plates of food and plenty of room to move as  the cafe opened out onto an outdoor area. I had to give some of my pancakes away as there was simply too much for me to eat. A Google search tells me it was voted the best cafe  in Brisbane to eat breakfast.

But what I loved about Perks was the large wall along one side of the cafe filled with second-hand books for sale. What a great idea! Hmm … good combination: books and eating.

At one stage, 10-year-old Alice asked me to come and look at the children’s section where we surveyed all manner of books that she wanted to read. Maria found a few of her favourites too and it wasn’t long before we were having book discussions … who had read what.

And, as luck would have it, going to a Cafe filled with books was very fitting for today because it is supposed to be:  International Book Week.  To think that I had no idea when I chose this cafe either.

I happened upon International Book Week when I saw a friend’s Facebook Status which read:

It’s International Book Week. The rules: grab the closest book to you, turn to page 52 and post the 5th sentence as your status. Don’t mention the book’s title. Copy the rules as part of your status.”

I liked this idea especially after our book discussions at the Deli Cafe so I posted my fifth sentence of the latest book I am reading, on my Facebook status as follows:

“Every time a train chugged in, they would glance anxiously at the ticket collectors’ wickets, while round them swirled other civilians and hordes of men and women in uniform, khaki, Navy blue, or Air Force blue, staggering under enormous packs and kitbags.”

Violet, Isaac and Alice together opening Isaac’s gift from Auntie Ria

I won’t tell you where it is from but it would have to be something to do with the war surely? And yes it is. ‘Nough said. Leave me your choice below in the comment section if you like folks.

Where had this idea come from I wondered? When I did some research I was unable to find out the answer but there are lots of sites saying “THESE ARE THE RULES” as I have written above. It seems these are the rules for a bit of fun … any excuse perhaps?

However I began to doubt if there really was such a Week as I could find no official source discussing International Book Week. Another blogger wondered the same thing stating:

A nice game, but is there such a thing as International Book Week? I can find no reference to it on the Web apart from this meme.”

I can only agree! There is a World Book Day with dates ranging from 3 rd March in UK to 22nd April in the US. There is also an Australian Children’s Book Week from 17 – 23 August, so it is all very confusing I’ve done my best but I cannot find out any more folks.

Of course, we all know that 2012 is the Year of the Book, right? Well, you know now if you didn’t before!

Still, I liked the idea of having some fun with books so I decided to “follow the rules” and have a bit of fun on Facebook. I do remember though, being in Sydney in 2010 minding the girls for Maria when she was away for work (Steve was in Afghanistan then) and Alice had Book Week at school. She had to dress up as a character from a book.

Alice’s School dressed up for Book Week

It was left to Bampy and me to help with the theme and we felt privileged to attend the celebrations for the day at her school. It was such a hoot! And except for freezing to death in Sydney in August, we had a wonderful time. It amazed me the amount of grandparents who were there that day.

I suppose it simply reflects the fact that so many parents are working today. Still, it is lovely to see the “oldies” helping out. Alice still remembers with fondness our presence at the school that day … which shows how important these things are for kids.

But, it was wonderful to see the interaction between the children and books. As a child who loved books and was always running off to hide so I could read, it warmed my heart to be part of Book Week that year.

And so folks, regardless of what it is called, whether it is International Book Week or not, the fact of the matter is, it is still a good time to be reminded of the importance of books … not just for children but for all of us. How else can we escape into a story or read the adventures of others or just gain information? I cannot imagine not having books to read!

Who loves books as much as I do? And who smells a new book when given one as a gift? Oh, memories die hard …

