Day 263 of 366: Blog Challenge 2012

Hello all

I thought I was hearing things this morning when a pirate voice boomed out of my radio with the words: “Aaarrr matey …”  But I needn’t have been concerned because I found out eventually it was “International Talk Like a Pirate Day.”

I ask you, who comes up with these things? Well, there are many theories and they seem to date back to 1995, but the one I like came from an American Mark Summers. It must be a holiday where he lives:

“According to Summers, the day is the only holiday to come into being as a result of a sports injury. He has stated that during a racquetball game between him and another man, one of them reacted to the pain with an outburst of “Aaarrr!” and the idea was born.”

The idea is when you greet someone today, you must speak like a pirate. Instead of saying “hello” you say “Ahoy Matey” and you add an “Aaarrr” into the mix if you like. Sounds like fun? Well, according to one website I consulted the very reason for “International Talk Like a Pirate Day” is to have FUN!

Those responsible for the website feel duty bound to add, that they know that pirates were and are, bad people. No one is disputing that, they say, so why talk like a pirate? Because of plain silliness, that’s why. Because we all need to lighten up one way or another. And this piece reminds us why we want to talk like a pirate:

“It gives your conversation a swagger, an elán, denied to landlocked lubbers. The best explanation came from a guy at a Cleveland radio station who interviewed us on the 2002 Talk Like a Pirate Day. He told us we were going to be buried by people asking for interviews because it was a “whimsical alternative” to all the serious things that were making the news so depressing.”

How true. Let’s face it folks, do you notice if you watch the evening TV News that it is full of murders and killings in the Middle East and politics and unions yelling abuse at politicians. There is very little good news stories.

I noticed one Sunday night a couple of weekends ago that there was some light-hearted stories on the news one after the other. I said to Geoff “What’s going on here, hasn’t anything gruesome happened today?” Obviously not, because those feel-good newsy items just kept on coming. It was actually quite good to watch.

You see, Geoff is one of those people who HAS to watch the TV news of the day. Me? I would rather go and read a book, bury my head in the sand and pretend that the poor Syrian people are not getting killed every day. I hear it on the radio news, there is no way I want to sit and WATCH the violence so that I am haunted by it when I am not far off going to bed!

The craziness of this family makes me laugh.

But even Geoff is getting tired of all that bad news and after the headlines can be persuaded to turn the channel to something banal like reruns of “Everybody Love Raymond.” Now there is a show with enough dysfunction to put anyone over the edge, yet somehow you know everyone loves everyone else regardless. And of course EVERYBODY … loves RAYMOND (who is the craziest of them all).

And so you can see how “Talk Like a Pirate Day” caught on so well.  The fun and the silliness it arouses in the most serious of people is worthwhile. I like this explanation:  “Pirate lingo is rich and complicated, sort of like a good stew.”  Describing Pirate lingo in this way gives a whole new dimension to having fun with the language! Perhaps it can give you an appetite?

On this website there is also links to how to speak like a French pirate, a German pirate and how to chat on the internet like a pirate. All essential things one needs to know for your own well-being. I did try to read the French version but I am flat-out reading the common French language let alone the pirate version.  Learn more here: talklikeapirate.com

So now, free of charge, I am going to give you some ‘pirate lingo’ and before the day ends, try using some of it on unsuspecting people and see what reactions you get. These are the five basic words you cannot live without. Have fun!

Ahoy!“Hello!”

Avast! – Stop and give attention. It can be used in a sense of surprise, “Whoa! Get a load of that!” which today makes it more of a “Check it out” or “No way!” or “Get off!”

Aye!“Why yes, I agree most heartily with everything you just said or did.”

Aye aye!“I’ll get right on that sir, as soon as my break is over.”

Arrr! – This one is often confused with arrrgh, which is of course the sound you make when you sit on a belaying pin. “Arrr!” can mean, variously, “yes,” “I agree,” “I’m happy,” “I’m enjoying this beer,” “My team is going to win it all,” “I saw that television show, it sucked!” and “That was a clever remark you or I just made.”

On this note, on International Talk like a Pirate Day” I wish to encourage you to have some fun by leaving you with this quote:

Humor has a way of bringing people together.  It unites people.  In fact, I’m rather serious when I suggest that someone should plant a few whoopee cushions in the United Nations.”  ~Ron Dentinger

 

