Day 245 of 366: Blog Challenge 2012

Hello all

You would be mistaken if you did not realise that today is the First Day of Spring in Australia. Let’s rejoice. Winter is finally over and not too soon I might add.

Us Spring Chickens celebrate spring!

I was most upset when I turned over the calendar this morning (the one that I put on my blog every month) and found a drawing of … football. Now I was expecting  a drawing  from the children – who have not disappointed every month – of beautiful spring flowers and all that kind of thing … but FOOTBALL??

Okay okay, I thought I knew why there was a drawing of football on that calendar but I was wrong. I thought that Austin Chapman (12) who drew the picture was from Victoria – the home of ‘Aussie Rules’ football but no! This boy was from Western Australian, no excuse there for drawing football when it is the Victorians who are Aussie Rules crazy.

Now for my overseas readers, let me just explain about Aussie Rules football. (I can’t believe I am talking about football when I want to talk about Spring??) Well it appears that Australian Rules Football (its formal name) originated in Melbourne in 1858 and has been played in every state of Australia since 1915 …  but let’s face it, the
Victorians are the ones who are mad on it (read here:  crazy, over the top etc etc).

It seems Tasmania and Western Australia are almost as bad so that may explain why young Austin has drawn a picture of Aussie Rules football. I will forgive him for not drawing spring but he did so because it is the Grand Finals of Aussie Rules football in September! But that means I have to make up for it now and add some spring-loaded pictures onto my blog.

You all know how much I love spring so it was no surprise when I decided to get married in the spring: 4th September. In my mind, I pictured sunshine and flowering shrubs and birds singing. Oh what a hopeless romantic and dreamer I was in 1971.

Guess what I got? Rain, rain and more rain. I kid you not! I had to have all my photos taken indoors and it only fined up after the wedding was over. ‘Nough said about that one. More about my wedding at another time,  but for now, back to spring.

So today I want to share with you an Australian poem about spring  which I found on a blog called “An Australian Poem a Day.” On it are all different poems by school children.  You will find some delightful poems there but here is one of them to share with you all so we can celebrate spring.  http://ozpoemaday.wordpress.com/

Spring Awakening by Lily Baker

Spring is the magical time

When the rainbow lorikeets hum and the honey suckles

Blossom,

When I actively bounce down the sand dunes

And onto the pea green grass,

The waratahs and the wattles bloom,

And my heart opens to the riot of spring.

I love this time when everything comes to life,

Nature triumphs in the trees, swaying freely in the wind,

Stealing my train of thought

And making my imagination run wild.

I am inspired by this heavenly kingdom,

The tranquillity of dew droplets falling,

Slowly

The mastery of the rain.

I feel connected.

Tree sap trickles down the bark of native gum trees

I examine this , calmly, curiously.

Sometimes the wind whispers to me at dusk

Giving me confidence within my body

I promise

I will always make the most of springtime.

So I will leave you with this message today my friends: make the most of spring as Lily Baker suggests. Go outside in the next few days and imbibe all the beauty you see there. Look for new shoots on shrubs, listen for new born birds chirping in their nests, but most of all, breathe deeply and make the most of the spring …

This is the time of the year when the bee and the flowers are in bed together. Isn’t this gorgeous?

P.S. Source: these poems were written by Australian children in masterclasses on The Four Seasons using The Hathorn Technique led by Libby Hathorn.

