Day 200 of 366: Blog Challenge 2012

Hello all

The rugged Kimberley Coast

 

Have I ever told you how long I have wanted to sail around the top of Australia? Probably since I was about 30 years old I have had this dream.

I can remember seeing an advertisement for a cruise which went past the Kimberley Coast and around the coast to Darwin but it was so expensive that it seemed so far out of my league as to be unattainable. I am not sure what attracted me to want to do this but there you are … it was just one of those things that stuck in my mind.

More than 30 years have passed since then and never in my widest dreams did I think I would have this dream come true. And I am still pinching myself that it has! All of which just goes to show folks, you SHOULD keep dreaming and one day, God and the universe will bring that dream to you.

Yesterday, our cruise ship the Dawn Princess entered York Sound and Prince Frederick Harbour which is a continuation of York Sound. Our daily newsletter Princess Patter said:

We will arrive at a position 2 miles west of Naturalist Island just before sunset … this will allow you an opportunity to see one of the beautiful and amazing parts of the Kimberley Coast and observe the colour changes in the surrounding rock formations during sunset.”

For those of you who are not in the ‘know’ the phrase: “The Kimberley” is the name given to a huge area of incredible and varied terrain which occupies 421,000 square kilometres in the northwest corner of the Australian continent.

Folks, “The Kimberley” stretches from the Indian Ocean coast in the west to the Timor Sea in the north and northwest. In other words, it is indeed a huge area! Our cruise line “Princess” was the first cruise line to enter York Sound as it was uncharted waters as far as large ships were concerned.

Therefore, the navy undertook testing in York Harbour and Prince Frederick Sound to enable the Princess ships to enter. So there is a little trivia for you all. Going into the Sound reminded me a little of entering Milford Sound in New Zealand only the vegetation was totally different of course.

The Kimberley is all red and rugged and seeing it is a unique experience. We stood next to some Americans and they felt you would never see this coastline anywhere else in the world.

The sun about to go down …

It was an amazing experience as we sailed firstly along the Kimberley Coast for three hours and then into York Sound. But … for sure the best part of all this was the sunset over the Kimberley formations! Oh yes, that glorious sunset went on for what was well over an hour.

You see, after watching the sunset and taking lots of photos (along with all the other people present) we went about our business and happened to come back 30 mins later only to find the most incredible afterglow along the horizon as good as the actual sunset itself. It was amazing.

So folks, my dream has come true and the sunset was just an added extra really. I had missed the Broome sunset over Cable Beach (because Geoff was ill) and I had the bonus of a Kimberley sunset instead! The thing is, viewing “The Kimberley’ from a ship is indeed a unique way of seeing it.

Not even the indigenous people can live in this rugged mountain landscape although ancient fires and artefacts have been found in caves off some of the small beaches along York Sound so the aborigines did visit by canoe perhaps?

Anyway folks, I feel this is a good topic to write about in order to celebrate my 200th post on my blog today. Yes, I’ve actually reached the second hundred and I cannot believe it. And I’ve reached this milestone in the middle of the Timor Sea while my dreams are coming true.

Enjoy my photos of sailing: “The Kimberley” friends …

