Day 176 of 366: Blog Challenge 2012

Hello all

There is breaking news today it seems. Australia went to bed last night knowing that our champion Aussie horse Black Caviar was  running  in the Diamond Jubilee Stakes at Royal Ascot in London during the day (our night).

For those who don’t know, Black Caviar is a dark brown mare foaled in Australia and all of us – even those who have no interest whatsoever in horse racing – have stood by and watched as Black Caviar had won 21 races out of 21 as of yesterday.

‘Won by a nose … “

This is no mean feat and some have even dared to say that she is a better horse than that other Australian legend of a horse ‘Phar Lap’ who won 37 out of 51 starts during the 1930s. But I am not here to argue about that folks. No, I am here to congratulate that amazing horse Black Caviar who, as they said on the news won the race ‘by a nose’.

What exactly does “won by a nose” mean anyway? To me, looking at the photo finish, it looks as if the horse won by a bit more than a nose! Then again, I do not understand horse parlay so what do I know?

All I can say is that all of Australia was holding their breath and Black Caviar did not disappoint. Still, her jockey Luke Nolen tells how he almost ‘blew it’ in the final 100 m  when he anticipated an easy finish and took it easy. But … you gotta hand it to the French! They mounted a great challenge as their horse made it’s charge for the line and almost beat Black Caviar. Perhaps  if it had a larger nose …?

Nolen said it would have been a “travesty” had Black Caviar been beaten and his main hope was that his miscalculation wouldn’t overshadow her win. But Trainer Peter Moody had no qualms in saying about the British who cheered Black Caviar on:

But you don’t win 22 from 22 by being a mug. I hope they know that.” 

What a great statement.  Oh Peter, I think they know that NOW!

I woke up at 1 am and listened to the good news being relayed from London and tried not to jump out of bed with excitement.  Luckily, Geoff was awake and we shared the good news. All I can say is:

‘BLACK CAVIAR’ … What a true Champion you are!

NOW FOR OTHER NEWS!

Well, Black Caviar really was THE news of the day but I have been aware for the last few days of another news item that I heard earlier in the week. I just haven’t had a chance to let you all know but apparently, it is now official:

The word ‘BOGAN’ has made it into the Oxford Dictionary

Once again, I was writing about ‘Bogans’ well before the Oxford Dictionary decided to make it a legitimate word. In fact I wrote a blog called “Tell Me: are YOU a Bogan?” on March 7th 2012. In it I even admitted that I had some Bogan in me also.

In my blog I wrote that Bogans are no longer associated with flannelette and drive utes, “No apparently, not any longer: the Bogan now has money and aspirations. “Today’s Bogan defies income, class, creed, gender, religion and logic.”

Now this week I have heard several radio discussions on the use of this word in our Australian language and one program was asking the question “Is it an insult to be called a ‘Bogan?‘ I found when I wrote my blog on this subject that a few friends wrote and told me they did not like putting ‘labels’ on people by giving them names. I think they found the word insulting.

However, one radio announcer said (and I would agree) that some people are proud to be called ‘Bogans’. Another friend told me that her daughter wrote a paper at university on the subject whilst doing her Communications Degree, so it is a very topical subject for sure.

It looks to me as if there  is mixed feelings on the subject but I have never taken the subject very seriously. During my lifetime I have seen various names bandied about, for example during the 1950s there were ‘bodgies and widgies‘ and this was not something one wanted to be called either. As one website put it:

In the latter half of the 1950s, concerns that Australia’s teenagers, and especially working-class teenagers, were becoming delinquent reached a crescendo. Law-abiding citizens observed with concern bodgies and widgies congregating in milk bars and on street corners.

Yes, I remember them well from my younger days folks (and yes I know I am showing my age here) but it might help to understand that the Oxford Dictionary says they were akin to the ‘Teddy Boys’ in Britain. Oh dear, I could go on with more labels but I really must stop for the day!

At least I have given you all a snapshot of two of the news items of the week just to keep you up to date, entertained and full of information – some of which may be totally useless, something I have been known to excel at …

Until tomorrow

Perhaps why the jockey nearly lost the race??

