Day 169 of 366: Blog Challenge 2012

Hello all

Why is it we always think that eating healthy means eating raw food, juices, no butter and lots of green vegetables? You may remember me telling you all that I was on a healthy diet (of this kind) in February? I was trying to fix the gut problems that I have had for quite a while.

Well, it turns out that, according to Anjeleen, the Indian Ayurvedic Practitioner and Acupunturist that I consulted three weeks ago, it is the worst diet that I could follow! Whilst I was craving heavier foods I was still juicing carrots and eating salads for my better ‘good’.

This she said, was NOT for ME. Other people who need to be cooled down can handle it, but I need to be warmed up.

And so for the last three weeks, I have been eating various porridges for breakfast, soups for lunch and stews for dinner with a warm milk drink and honey before going to bed. And there are some cooked fruits and rice pudding in there too … plus warm lemon juice drinks in the day. I am in heaven on this diet!

Herbs that Heal

Oh, but I haven’t mentioned the most vile tasting herbs and spices that I take two and three times a day, have I? ‘Nough said about that. 

Well, I think I prefer the warming food regardless of the horrible spices as I feel so much better since embarking on my NOT raw food diet (with Anjeleen’s emphasis here) than I felt before. And I am sleeping much better … wow!

However, it has meant I am making lots of soup now. This weeks soups have been: Cream of Celery, Cream of Asparagus, Pea and Ham and a delightful Thai Pumpkin soup to die for. Another requirement is that I do NOT eat leftovers. I asked Anjeleen, what this was all about?

Food that Heals: soup

It appears that in Ayurvedic medicine, food only has vitality for the first 12 hours. I found this very labour intensive as it is hard to make soup for one meal only and so I asked Anjeleen the next time I saw her, for a bit more information on this. “Well” she said “if you add extra spices the next day, that will be fine.” Which just goes to show you have to ask, don’t you?

So my diet is aimed at giving my poor old digestive system a rest. I need to have food well cooked for this reason. Oh the agony I have been through in my ‘supposed’ efforts to eat healthy raw food!  Now, I do not want everyone throwing out their raw foods you understand.  This is a diet suited to ME alone. YOU may require something different again.

But I have to say I am loving every moment of it – especially adding butter, cream and oil to everything

Anjeleen comes highly recommended by my Doctor’s wife who has been seeing Anjeleen for 15 years and finally convinced her to come to the surgery to treat us patients who do not seem to be helped by traditional medicine. But first, I must tell you what my research into Ayurveda medicine has turned up:

“Ayurveda is the traditional medicine of India, which originated there over 5,000 years ago. Ayurveda emphasizes re-establishing balance in the body through diet, lifestyle, exercise, and body cleansing, and on the health of the mind, body, and spirit.

This is believed to help prevent illness and promote wellness. Ayurvedic medicine uses a variety of products and techniques to cleanse the body and restore balance.”

Interesting, isn’t it?  Anjeleen’s aim is to restore balance to my body. The acupuncture she gives me helps also, especially my lungs which were affected by whooping-cough. It also helps with energy levels. And there are baths, massages and walking too.

The cups that Grip

And so, as I embark on another journey in my life all I can say is: there is always something you know nothing about, isn’t there? How can one become puffed up and full of hubris when continually there are always things we do not understand.

For instances, on my visit yesterday, Anjeleen gave me a ‘Cupping Treatment’. Now, this one is really weird but if you are a follower of celebrities, you may remember Gwyneth Paltrow being seen with ring marks on her back and when asked she said that she’d had a ‘Cupping Treatment.’

Well, I am up with the stars now for I have survived having a ‘Cupping Treatment!’ But, I have to tell you, it is not for the faint hearted. No way. It hurt something chronic when she put those nine cups on me; they latched themselves onto my back far worse than a leech in a rainforest! I felt like I was being tortured.

Anjeleen is a beautiful kind woman, and she assured me that I would live … and the pain would go in a few minutes. She was right but I now have the rings to show that, like Gwyneth I have indeed been ‘Cupped’ .

This is something I never dreamt I would be sharing with the blogosphere, but it just goes to show that sometimes life throws you a curve ball and you have to move sideways to make the connection: but hey, you have to do whatever it takes to catch the damn thing so you can get on with the game (eg your life) …

Until tomorrow

There is no mistake: this girl has been “Cupped”

 

