Day 163 of 366: Blog Challenge 2012

Hello all

Yesterday was  a depressing day. We woke up to cold and rain and despite our desire to head to Church in the morning, we succumbed to the covers and stayed put with our papers and cup of tea in bed. It sure felt good!

We  postponed church until the evening but it was what happened in between that  could have made it even more depressing. It didn’t help that I had a couple of things on my mind eg. my sister in hospital having a cancer operation on Friday (all is now well) and a dear young friend who’d  had an operation for a brain tumor (Wed) that proved to be malignant.

I was feeling heavy at heart but I got up and carried on trying not to dwell on these things, I decided after lunch that a nice happy lighthearted movie was in order to offset my fragility. I picked one on ME TV a 2000 movie called “Autumn in New York” starring  Richard Gere and the beautiful Winona Ryder.

Scenery from ‘Autumn in New York’

It looked innocent enough – a romance it seemed – and Geoff and I sat down to enjoy it. Have any of you ‘out there’ seen this movie? Well, it was not what I had hoped it to be. It was certainly not light-hearded! Sure, it had the beautiful autumn scenery in New York which was amazing.

It had Richard Gere (my heart-throb) as a philanderer commitment -phob with a sick 22 yr old Winona before she became infamous for stealing things (poor girl). But it was SAD!!

In fact, the reviews were not amazing but I took no notice of them anyway. In the end, the movie enabled me to shed many tears which were there – you know just on the surface and wanting to spill over – and it left me pondering life and romance.

It took me away from my own troubles and made me aware of a bigger picture. One where troubles came to us for a reason and we have to learn something from them. And so it came to pass in this movie.

I will not give away the ending in case you might want to get hold of the DVD and watch it. It is actually a really lovely story but take care whether you allow any men present to watch it, for mine left the room after the first 30 minutes. I ended up loving it and it’s message about love and commitment. One for the girls.

But another thing took place yesterday and it involved RINGS. WEDDING rings that is.

Now we all know that Geoff – my ever-present husband – is good blogger material and he has proved his worth once again by not disappointing. If I told you all the things he said to me on a daily basis I could write a blog called “Life with Geoff” and not “Life with Tess!”

You see, in March he lost his wedding ring at the beach. Aah let me correct that. I was the one who lost his wedding ring at the beach! And I lost it because he took it off and put it in a weird place and without all the details (you wouldn’t believe me if I told you),  it was somehow lost in the sand from my beach bag while we were sitting on the beach.

This is not the FIRST time Geoff has lost a wedding ring. He lost the original one in the sea at Lindemann Island (The Whitsundays) in 1985 while we were on our second honeymoon (yes without children). Can you see a pattern beginning to emerge here? What is it about Geoff and the sea?  Geoff has always wanted to go to sea as a boy; methinks he may want to escape perhaps?

Anyway, the insurance company had phoned for a picture of the ring and finally on Sunday we found one. It brought to mind the phone conversation with the insurance company that prompted this activity and I shared it with Geoff.

The lady on the phone was so nice and I explained the situation; and yes, the original ring incident also. I was feeling lighthearted that day and went on to say to the girl:

You know, when this claim gets settled, I am going to buy him a ring for his nose and that way it will never get lost! And I think I will  put a rope through it and keep tabs on him at the same time!”

Well, the girl was so surprised that she burst into laughter! She was not expecting this statement from an old girl like me. The two of us laughed and laughed together. But, it brought to mind a nonense poem that my brothers sang at school called “The Owl and the Pussycat.”  I remembered that I had been sent the poem recently by email.

The first part has the owl and the pussycat going to sea in a pea-green boat. Another part involves looking for a wedding ring and finding a pig with a ring on the end of his nose. Very appropriate for this blog I think and one to share with you all.  It really is a delightful poem. It is worth reading through to the end or listen to it on You Tube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r_P82OYAVj8:

The Owl and the Pussy-Cat
by Edward Lear (written 1871)

Perhaps they could take Geoff with them?

The Owl and the Pussy-Cat went to sea
   In a beautiful pea-green boat:
They took some honey, and plenty of money
   Wrapped up in a five-pound note.
The Owl looked up to the stars above,
   And sang to a small guitar,
“O lovely Pussy, O Pussy, my love,
   What a beautiful Pussy you are,
            You are,
            You are!
   What a beautiful Pussy you are!”

Pussy said to the Owl, “You elegant fowl,
   How charmingly sweet you sing!
Oh! let us be married; too long we have tarried,
   But what shall we do for a ring?”
They sailed away, for a year and a day,
To the land where the bong-tree grows;
And there in a wood a Piggy-wig stood,
   With a ring at the end of his nose,
            His nose,
            His nose,
   With a ring at the end of his nose.

“Dear Pig, are you willing to sell for one shilling
   Your ring?” Said the Piggy, “I will.”
So they took it away, and were married next day
   By the turkey who lives on the hill.
They dined on mince and slices of quince,
   Which they ate with a runcible spoon;
And hand in hand, on the edge of the sand,
   They danced by the light of the moon,
            The moon,
            The moon,
   They danced by the light of the moon.

