Day 137 of 366: Blog Challenge 2012

Hello my friends …

I have been wanting to get back to the topic on my May 1st Calendar Be Happy Be You since I returned from Fiji so now seems a good time to revisit it.

I felt I addressed the Be Happy part before I went away but I definitely would like a few discussions on the BE YOU part of things now. In fact, we hear these words so often don’t we? “BE YOU.” But what in the name of goodness does it mean? It is such a cliché and we hear it so often I really don’t think any of us have any idea what it actually means.

In fact, I had come across some things on http://www.wikihow.com/Be-Yourself which gives ten ways to be yourself. Here they are. Read them and then we will discuss it further. I do not intend to address them all today but let’s just read them quickly first of all to get an overview of them:

  1. Find yourself and define yourself on your terms.
  2. Avoid fixating on the past and not letting yourself grow.
  3. Stop caring about how people perceive you
  4. Be honest and open
  5. Relax. Stop worrying about the worst that could happen,
  6. Treat yourself as you’d treat your own best friend.
  7. Develop and express your individuality
  8. Stop comparing yourself to others
  9. Follow your own style
  10. Accept that some days you’re the pigeon, and that some days you are the statue.

Got the idea in your mind now? Talk about clichés! When I read them, I wondered aloud about sprouting them off as if I was some kind of expert. Believe me, I am not and that is why I put off writing about BE YOU. Because I think they require some delving and discussion and thought and I wanted to tackle them in my own way.  Let’s look at the first one today.

1. Find yourself and define yourself on your terms.

Find yourself eh? It sounds to me like you need to do some archeological dig! In fact, this is probably the truth. Finding yourself does involve some digging. I once had a book called “Simple Abundance” by the American Sarah Ban Breathnatch, a former Journalist. It was subtitled: A Daybook of Comfort and Joy. It contains daily readings to help you discover who you are and to learn gratitude in your life.

In it  Sarah talks about doing an archaeological dig to discover who you are. She suggests going through glossy magazines and cutting out pictures of things that resonate deep within yourself. Perhaps styles of clothing you might like to wear to reflect your unique personality or the type of furnishings that would make you feel good in your home.

You get the idea? Perhaps you might like to start a Journal – a beautiful spiral bound Journal (not one that you buy in the “cheapie shop”) if you can afford it. Don’t like writing you say? Well, jot down ideas only in it. No one is expecting you to publish a book my friends! But do put the date alongside your notes so you can look back on it.

Take notice of any compliments your friends give you. Jot them down. If you do something exceptionally well, write that down too. Oh I love the idea of this.  You cannot define yourself on YOUR terms, if you do not know who are you folks!

Some of us old people – like me moi and I – have taken a lifetime to discover how to BE YOU! I have gone the Simple Abundance route and it helped me enormously when I was in my forties. Do you know, that finding yourself doesn’t just happen with no effort. Sometimes, we learn who we are the hard way. Unfortunately, I have never taken the easy road to find out things about myself but once I have, that’s it. It sticks like glue!

If you want to find out more about Simple Abundance, Sarah now has a website which, like everything she does, has a beauty about it that is uniquely her own. Visit Sarah here:  http://simpleabundance.com/principles.htm

In closing I will leave you with what Sarah calls the SIX GRACES of Simple Abundance:

A postcard called GRATITUDE with a painting of Sarah Ban Breathnatch

    • Gratitude
    • Simplicity
    • Order
    • Harmony
    • Beauty
    • Joy

These are all things that are worth trying to incorporate into our lives. None of these “graces” come easily to any of us but once we begin to find them within the framework of our own personality, our archeological dig has begun. It won’t be long before the whole “new thing” within us is revealed.

Okay folks, let us go on a little adventuring in the Land of “Being You” and see what we discover. This is not going to happen overnight (but like the hair treatment “it will happen!”) so it only requires that you begin.

As a beginning: simply think on these things and make a start …

