Day 113 of 366: Blog Challenge 2012

Hello all

There would be something wrong if we had never heard of the song made famous in the Sound of Music: My Favourite Things – sung by Julie Andrews.

And there have been many parodies of this song ever since we first heard that delightful tune on the big screen in 1965. The one that has come to my attention lately is the one attributed to Julie Andrews but according to reliable sources you shouldn’t believe a word of it! Julie, who is unable to sing due to a botched throat operation, has never sung it.

Still, I must share here some of the words which I am beginning to relate to the older I get. Sing along to the familiar tune and have a laugh:

Hot tea and crumpets, and corn pads for bunions, No spicy hot food or food cooked with onions, Bathrobes and heat pads and hot meals they bring, These are a few of my favourite things.

When the joints ache, when the hips break, When the eyes grow dim, Then I remember the great life I’ve had, And then I don’t feel so bad.”

You do get the idea don’t you? Therefore, with this introduction I begin my blog today. This is thanks to a request from a friend on my ‘Life with Tess’ Facebook page yesterday who suggested a blog about FAVOURITE THINGS. Thanks Emma, great suggestion!

So today I will write about MY favourite things under some of the headings suggested ny Emma. Then I would like to get YOU the readers to give me some of YOUR favourite things so I can blog about them tomorrow or whenever this things gets moving.  

I will give you the template and you can add your favourite things so that I can comment and do whatever it is I do on this blog!  Are you all up for it? I will put the request out on my Facebook page as well to make it easier. Are you ready? For now we will concentrate on three things: Colour, Season and Smell. Let me begin.

COLOUR

My favourite colour, since the time I was a child is: PINK. 

Even today this colour fills me with a warm feeling and wraps its gentle arms around me. Many years ago, I read an article on colours and personalities and when I did the test as to which colour was really ME, it came out … surprise surprise … pink! 

I looked it up online and here is what it about PINK. Is this me? Indefinite? Oh … I think so …

“Pink: This color embodies the gentler qualities of Red, symbolizing love and affection without passion. Women who prefer Pink tend to be maternal. Pink people require affection and like to feel loved and secure. Pink people tend to be charming and gentle, if a trifle indefinite.” 

SEASON
 
My favourite season would have to be SPRING. 
 

Perfect spring morning in a great setting.

I love the newness of the Spring as it comes out of the cold of winter. Even though here in Brisbane, Queensland we have a  very mild winter, I always look forward to the perfume of the flowers as they burst out to celebrate the new season. I love hearing the baby birds chirping in their nests, crying out for food:  “Hurry up …  hurry up  Mumma.”

 
The warmth of Spring promises so much I always feel: summer days at the beach, holidays, my birthday in October and most of all, throwing off jackets and coats and enjoying the Spring sunshine before the heat of summer comes. Funny (but true) story: I planned our wedding in the Spring because of all these things and guess what happened? Yes, it poured raining on the day! Ha ha foiled …
 
SMELL
 
My favourite smell is: SO MANY THINGS  (must I choose?)
 
This is such a difficult one as I have so many favourites! I love the smell of freshly mown grass late in the afternoon in the cool of a summer’s day. I love the heady perfume of our honeysuckle vine flowering in the Spring but really, how can you beat the smell of a small baby fresh from its bath (using Pears soap)? Now that is a wonder worth smelling because you know it will be gone in no time at all!  
 
So I have made a beginning. I have some other favourite things we will look at later but for now, tell me about YOUR favourite: COLOUR; SEASON and PERFUME.  Pleease?? Lease a reply on my blow below.
 
Looking forward to hearing YOUR voice for a change instead of it being all ME, MOI and I.
 
PS. Here is an app you can get to work out what colour you are: http://www.androidzoom.com/android_applications/entertainment/color-personality_leop.html
 
 
