Hi all

Why has the weather turned Artic all of a sudden in this part of the world?

I have come home from the most perfect, sunny, warm Easter weather I have ever experienced to freezing conditions and it is only the second month of Autumn. Heavens above, I was even swimming in the Caravan Park pool and lazing in the sun! Now I am rugged up against the cold.

And I’m tired too. I think it all hit me today actually. I was still riding on that wonderful high yesterday and so everything seemed easy then … but not now.  I have come to my computer and I have NOTHING to write about so now I may have to write about NOTHING! Oh no.

This is so unusual for me, but  my imagination seems hidden in some dark corner of my brain. Aaha … talking about having nothing to write about, reminds me that I was reading an article on a website earlier called ‘The Hoopla’ by a ‘Mrs Woog’ about the old days of the School Canteen.

The article was good and I did relate to the Tuckshop of my children’s era but it was nothing like the Tuckshop of my era – the 1950’s – where everyone had salad rolls and not much else to choose from … oh and cream buns and finger buns too. Check out the Hoopla website which is a mix of news and humour and all sorts of things: http://thehoopla.com.au/

"Woog Family Portrait"

But what I most wanted to tell you about was Mrs Woog herself. The Hoopla led to her Blog called “WOOGSWORLD” – “Making the most out of the mundane.” On the site is a photo of her and her children with Brad Pit photoshopped into her family with a dark orphan child! What a great blog. Have a look at it: http://www.woogsworld.com/

I loved what Mrs Woog had to say on her “About” page. A sample:

  • “I can be found in the laundry, folding laundry, sorting laundry and dropping off the dry cleaning.
  • I am mum to two boys,  boss of my husband and master of a cat and two guinea pigs. During my waking hours I ferry kids around in the Mazda while drinking takeaway coffees and listening to talkback.
  • I think about going to the gym every day.
  • I used to work in the publishing industry before I realised it was nothing like Elaine Benes from Seinfeld made out like it was. 
  • Now I write this blog. And I never get writer’s block.  It is the only gift I have.”

    A pattern for colettes which were fasionable in the eighties.

I really relate to this woman! I like her style. Whilst on her blog click on Mrs Woog’s A-Z of Beauty and Style, like I did, and read about “Culottes” and have a laugh. Here is a taste of what you’ll get:

“Culottes are a very rare sight nowadays and are favoured by religious cult members and cool try-hard folk who stumble across a pair in a Vinnie’s Bin in Surry Hills then team it with a Hello Kitty boob tube. Simply put, culottes are what would happen if a skirt mated with a pair of trousers.”

Now that I have shared about Mrs Woog, I have just remembered that I found a letter whilst cleaning up today which Alice (10) wrote on Easter Saturday night to leave out for the Easter Bunny. It is a delight and I have scanned it for you all. Here it is.

I you cannot read it, the last bit says: "PS E.B. means Easter Bunny if you did not no!!!"

I am also reminded that I heard the Australian science expert Dr. Karl on the radio this morning and he asked the announcer a question: “You do know where Easter Eggs come from, don’t you?” I listened intently wondering what scientific answer he was going to give. Perhaps it would be like the South Pole is to Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny must have a similar home too, but no! His reply was: “The Easter Bunny of course!”

I was left with my mouth open. What sort of answer was that? It turns out that Dr Karl has been reading the Journal of Paleontology and by his reckoning our chocolate Easter Egg shape resembles the spherical eggs of dinosaurs. He knows this because some 70 million year old dinosaur eggs have been found in Spain recently!  

I am not sure when these Easter stories are ever going to end but it seems that they keep popping up long after the event has passed. And I am still eating chocolate. Perhaps the Easter stories last until the last bit of chocolate is gone! We can only hope …

In closing, I am amazed that this blog about NOTHING has actually been written at all. And I feel better too. Somehow the discipline of blogging every day for 366 days is good for my wellbeing. I feel a bit like the postman in the days of old when the motto was “The mail must go through“. In my case, the blog must get done! And it has …

Until tomorrow folks…

