Hello to all!

As I continue to clean up and look at some of the things I have brought home with me, I have become aware of how much fate comes into play in your life.

Why is this so? Due to going away,  I made some new discoveries which I never would have made if I had stayed in the safety of my home! One of the discoveries I made involves face cream. Now, far be it from me to endorse products, I do not and will not, but on this occasion I think I am on to something and I must share it.

First of all, I must reveal my hand. I sell beauty products called Nutrimetics (which began originally in America as Con-Stan in about 1973 but is now Australian owned and operated). I have sold these products (on the side) for about 35 years on and off because I love it so much. However,  leaving my moisturiser at home last week led me on another path altogether! Fate had intervened.

When I had my first shower, I realised I had left my moisturiser at home. What a pain!  The next day saw me looking for one. Have you ever had this happen? What to buy?  At the Chemist I looked at the cheap products with some disdain (cheap usually equals nasty) and then I saw the brand ‘NATIO’ and recognised it as  Australian made. I thought the price: $14.50 was a great price and if it was no good, I had not lost too much money.

And so fate had stepped in and I found the most beautiful smelling moisturiser that wasn’t too light or too heavy. It is called: Natio Natural Vitamin E Moisturising Cream. I have to say I am hooked. I cannot get enough of this product! It smells so nice because it contains real essential oils of geranium and pelargonium. They would have to be my two favourite oils and I remember the smell fondly from when I was menopausal (ha ha … not fondness for menopause just the smell!) and I used a natural product for hot flushes containing these same two oils.

Now folks, I am totally torn. I feel guilty somehow. I do not want to go back to my Nutri-Moist that I have been using for the last 35 years! So should I use the old one in the morning and the other at night perhaps? I have no idea. Let’s see which one stands the test of time. In the meantime, I did some googling and what I learned  about Natio impressed me. It was begun by Max and Vivienne Ross in Australia in 1993. The website says:

Natio is Latin for “creation”, “birth”, “birthplace” and the ancient name for the Goddess of Nature. It symbolises the pure and natural, plant-based origins of Natio’s range. Natio has evolved from an Australian family business that has been manufacturing skin care and cosmetics for national and international brands over four generations during the past 75 years.”         http://www.natio.com.au/

Aaah fresh produce from the farm...

Now that I have got that confession off my chest, I’ll give you some information about the other things I discovered and almost forgot I had. I had eight beautiful fresh cobs of corn and three large pieces of sweet potato I bought at a stall by the side of the road outside a farm.

You see, Cabarita is actually a small town in a rural area so you do see farms selling produce according to the honesty system. I usually buy whatever is in season and bring it home to use. So, what was I going to do with eight cobs of corn and all that sweet potato I ask you?

Yes, you guessed it: make some nice “Chicken, Corn and Sweet Potato Soup for the Soul”  As the rain has come back this morning making the weather cooler, I think soup will be a comfort on such a day. Last night, I cooked the last of the fresh fish (Taylor) that Harry gave us as we were leaving! I have managed somehow to come home with bountiful produce for which I am very grateful!

So, because I refused to go out today and buy anything until I used up all the bits and pieces I had on hand, fate intervened in my decision to have soup! Now my soup is simmering away using up every last piece of vegetable I own.  I was undecided about the recipe but Jamie Oliver’s Chicken and Corn Chowder won me over and as I do, I simply changed it to suit what I had available. Thanks Jamie, I always get great ideas from you. This one I owe to his “30 Minute Meals” book which I highly recommend to everyone (I should be getting paid for these endorsements, shouldn’t I??)

Here is the my version but you can use a quick version and use whatever you have on hand for a quick meal:

Chicken, Corn and Sweet Potato Soup for the Soul

  • 1 litre of good chicken stock (I cooked up a heap of chicken necks I had in the freezer for such an occasion)
  • 4 fresh cobs of corn, cut from the cob into pieces (use tinned if you have no fresh cobs)
  • 1 medium sweet potato (yams) cut up into cubes
  • 1 onion, 1 leek chopped
  • 3 small cloves garlic
  • 1 small red chilli (remove seeds if you don’t want it too fiery)
  • season with chicken stock powder, pepper. fresh or dried thyme
  • add some baby spinach before serving ( I have Fillipino spinach growing)
  • add a dash of milk or cream (if desired) and serve with fresh bread or rolls

    Yummm ...my chicken soup after adding the spinach

If using chicken pieces cook up stock first, but if using bought stock just throw the whole lot in the saucepan and cook up for about 30 minutes. In fact, I can make this soup out of water and a packet of chicken noodle soup if I am desperate. I throw in all sorts of vegetables and it always tastes great! Just make sure you season it well to give it some flavour.

So now you can see how fate made all this possible but I have to ask myself: isn’t it the decisions we make on the moment that decide our fate? While you are  thinking about that, I will just say that the decisions I made while I was away have led to this blog post today and that is enough!

… THE END …

(PS. I found this web  site selling Nutrimetics in US, Canada  here: http://nutrimeticsusa.blogspot.com.au/)

