Hello all

I know it is St. Patrick’s Day today and that the Irish love their violins but when Geoff told me earlier that he needed to get out the violin it had nothing to do with the Irish, but everything to do with my complaining!

I began by whining about the … dare I say it? … INSTANT coffee I was making,  knowing how much I hate instant coffee as I was bemoaning the fact that I had not bought my ‘proper coffee’ and plunger with me on our holiday. “What was I thinking? Fancy ME drinking instant coffee?” I moaned.

Geoff doesn’t care what he drinks. No fussiness here. No. This was classic ‘fusspot Tess’ who strives (too much perhaps?) for the best. It was all light-hearted and fun but we had just come back from the beach where an attempt to swim had failed as we thought there was too much gravel underfoot. I think we were feeling a little fragile so we headed home for a cuppa and cake but disappointment awaited.

After my first complaint, I thought I should continue with the fun so I said to Geoff: “Do you know , because you have given up sugar in tea and coffee it is causing me angst?” The look of surprise on his face was palpable. “No” I continued “it’s too hard. I’ve had to give up the habit of a lifetime – putting sugar in your tea/coffee – and now I need counselling to help me NOT put sugar into your beverages!” 

It was at this point that Geoff felt he needed to play the violin! In fact, now he had some idea of what I go through when listening to him.  When Geoff finished his imaginary violin playing, we had our coffee and were happy – even if it was INSTANT coffee. There are some things one has to suffer at times … ha ha.

So, Geoff’s speaking of violins was fitting because we are going off to the Cabarita Sports Club tonight to hear the “Flogging Fiddles” play for St. Patrick’s Day. We thought we should join in the local festivities as we have a penchant for Irish music and it was fitting to celebrate. Neither of us has a drop of Irish blood between us, but hey, who cares as long as we have a bit of fun? I will let you know how it goes.

I attempted to find out a little more about why it is St. Patrick’s Day and why we celebrate.  This is what I found:

St. Patrick’s Day is celebrated on March 17, the saint’s religious feast day and the anniversary of his death in the fifth century. The Irish have observed this day as a religious holiday for over 1,000 years. On St. Patrick’s Day, which falls during the Christian season of Lent, Irish families would traditionally attend church in the morning and celebrate in the afternoon. Lenten prohibitions against the consumption of meat were waived and people would dance, drink and feast–on the traditional meal of Irish bacon and cabbage.”

This is very interesting and shows a tradition that has lasted for an amazing length of time. Don’t you love the thought of that meal though? No, I cannot imagine it being pleasant?!

I know when I was a young girl I would always wear emerald-green to work on St. Patrick’s Dayand there was much

Lovin that little Irish Leprechaun

celebrating. I always longed to have some Irish heritage for some reason! Here in Australia, there are still lots of festivities and it is not just the Irish who celebrate, all thanks to St. Pat!

But, in the US I found out some other interesting information about the St. Patrick’s Day Parades that are held in New York. They actually began in 1762 and more than 100 Parades are held around the United States!  Here it what I read:

“Interestingly, the first parade held to honor St. Patrick’s Day took place not in Ireland but in the United States. On March 17, 1762, Irish soldiers serving in the English military marched through New York City. Along with their music, the parade helped the soldiers reconnect with their Irish roots, as well as with fellow Irishmen serving in the English army.”

I had no idea of this connection, did you? We have our own parade in Sydney and I know Brisbane had one last Saturday (10th March) for some unknown reason!  Here is the link: http://www.history.com/topics/st-patricks-day

Before I go off to beautify myself for the ‘Flogging Fiddles’ I must report on how the holiday is going. The weather is a little iffy but we are managing to enjoy ourselves. We are still having lots of great interactions with the residents here but will write more on that tomorrow.

My book ‘Death at Pemberley’ is coming along and I have to confess to a little peek at the ending (I do this all the time, cannot help myself) but I must give you the word I promised to teach you. It came in a description of Elizabeth. This snippet shows how PD James has managed to emulate Jane Austen so well:

The Meryton ladies accused Elizabeth “of being sardonic and although there was uncertainly about the meaning of the word, they knew it was not a desirable quality in a woman, being one which gentlemen particularly disliked.”

SARDONIC: adj. sarcastic or scornfully superior…”

Love it, love it! And now there is no uncertainty about the meaning of the word, you can use ‘sardonic’ in polite company and impress everyone.

Until tomorrow.

