Good morning all

Last night Geoff and I were sitting outside having a Thai red curry dish in the cool of the evening when I had a vision flash in front of my eyes!

This was no ordinary vision. No, this was a typical “Geoff Personality Colour indicator” type vision and it occurred whilst Geoff was on one of his regular up-beat “I-have-all-the-answers-to-everything” outbursts. Remember the “Testorone and Coffee do no mix” blog? Well, it was a bit like that. It happens on certain occasions but usually when Geoff is feeling very pleased with himself and has achieved a lot of things.

And there is plenty of comedy in it also, with either the rolling of eyes (or laughter) from me! I will tell you more about the vision that flashed before me. It relates to those Fire Indicators you see whilst driving around the countryside. You know they show the fire risk for the day: Low, Moderate or High? This will give you some idea of what I am talking about.

Geoff’s “Colour Personality Indicator” had gone from Moderate to bordering on High and climbing! This is when I had the vision of it as a Fire Indicator! Any comment I made was going to be met with some interesting remark, disagreement or hilarity. I was not going to win any arguments that’s for sure. This is where I made my first mistake. I should have known better. Let me give you an prime example.

I was telling Geoff about the “Happy App” (yes, I kidd you not!) that is available. When you feel happy, you record it on the App and when everyone around the world does this, you can check clusters on the globe where people are feeling happy. To someone like me, who loves information of this kind, as crazy as it might be, I was fascinated. However, the Happy App did not make Geoff the least bit “Happy” at all!

He hated the idea and with colourful language told me what he thought of the radio announcer who loved it and wants to try it. Geoff thought this a pure waste of time and no amount of discussion would deter him from this view. I gave up and thought I might buy him an “Unhappy App” for his birthday instead!  But to be fair, his mood was not all sombre,  just selective.

The next moment, Geoff launched into a discussion of  Steve the local Greek fruiterer, who he said should be called Con the Fruiterer (for my overseas readers: a Greek comedian here in Australia who masquerades as a fruiterer).  It was at this point that I made my next mistake: I launced into a story about Steve the fruiterer!

Steve had sold me his beautiful Tasmania carrots last week (that he was smelling as he lovingly caressed them) for health juice and warned me jokingly, not to juice too many as I might turn orange! I laughed at this but the next minute, he pointed to the skin on his arm and said “See this, when my arm turns red, you will have to ask ME a few questions.” How so I wanted to know. “You’ll have to ask me if I have been drinking too much red wine!” replied Steve with glee.

Well, Geoff thought this was hilarious BUT he thought he could add something to this story that I did not know and he said:  “This Greek fellow is a one-eyed fruiterer, of course he wiould be drinking lots of red wine!” What? Since when did Steve only have one good eye? I have never noticed that this man has a bung eye? Well, apparently he has! One is a little unusual. Where have I been?

Without skipping a beat, Geoff said “actually, I think he should be called Cyclops because anyone with one eye is usually called Cyclops!” Have you ever heard of Cyclops? I had not. Geoff recounted tales of a mate called Cyclops who had one eye that was damaged. I have to say, I did not believe a word of it but this morning I checked out his story and it turns out Geoff, fountain of  useless information, was right! Here is what I found from Wikipedia:

Cyclops has come

“Cyclops (Scott Summers) is a fictional character, a superhero who is the leader of the X-Men in the Marvel Comics Universe. A mutant, Cyclops emits a powerful energy beam from his eyes (an “optic blast”). In uniform, he wears a battle visor with a single, ruby-quartz lens running eye-to-eye; the resulting one-eyed appearance is why he is codenamed “Cyclops.”

But Geoff told me there is more to the name: CYCLOPS so again I checked it out: “Cyclops was the regal warrior-prince of a faraway land, and the betrothed of an enchanted princess named Lady Jean Grey. Several years ago, Cyclops’ kingdom was threatened by a great calamity.”  Bascially, they had to save the Kingdom and so:

“Cyclops contacted the wizard, Xavier, and the two fled the kingdom. Xavier used his magic to provide Cyclops with a special blindfold that contained his eyes of death, allowing him to function as a normal (albeit blind) individual. I think they then saved the Kingdom. Hence the use of the name of Cyclops for the sixties comic hero and my Greed fruiterer!  The link: http://misc.thefullwiki.org/Cyclops_(Fairy_Tale)

So, just when you think it is all nonsense, Geoff comes up with something new. Oh, there were other stories too, but I do not have the time or the space to write them here. Nevertheless, we did laugh and we got up from the table in a happy frame of mind. I think if Geoff had a Happy App, he could have even told it that he was indeed “Happy”. I think he would have liked that despite his opposition to the idea.

But possibly, he would have been even happier if  I had told him of another form of technology that I heard on the same program: Tweet-a-Beer on Twitter. You can buy someone a beer (through PayPal) for $5 by tweeting it through a special app. Life is indeed becoming more and more interesting, thanks to social media. Here is the link I found: http://www.tweet-a-beer.com/

At this point, I must sign off. I am writing early in the morning (life will be hectic later) as we are taking our van to our favourite beach – Cabarita – for a week and I must keep packing my things. I have a chicken cooking in my Slow Cooker and I have a fruit cake in the oven and all before 8.30am. I can’t even believe it myself!

Stay tuned however, as I will be writing live from Cabarita Beach in the paradise of New South Wales…

